European Union EU

The EU is by far the most important trading partner for Swiss agriculture. In 2013, 62% of Swiss agricultural and food exports worth CHF 5.5 billion went to the EU; 75% of agricultural imports worth CHF 8.7 billion were imported from the EU. Swiss agricultural exports to the EU have increased by CHF 811 million (+17 %) compared to the year 2007. A significant part of this increase is due to an expansion of exports of processed agricultural products. In addition, cheese exports to the EU have increased on average by 2.7% between 2003 and 2013 which in monetary terms represents an increase in value of exports by 2.3 % per year.

Trade with the EU is based on a tight network of bilateral agreements:

The Free Trade Agreement (FTA) between Switzerland and the EU entered into force in 1972. It created a free trade area for industrial products. Protocol No. 2 of the FTA regulates trade of processed agricultural products.

The bilateral Agreement on Agriculture between Switzerland and the EU, which regulates trade of basic agricultural products, entered into force in 2002. In contrary to the FTA for industrial products, this bilateral agreement does not create a free trade area; instead mutual market
access is improved by reducing tariffs and non-tariff barriers to trade for certain product segments.

In November 2008, negotiations began for a comprehensive agreement in the areas of agriculture, food and product safety, as well as public health.

Last modification 12.08.2016

Top of page

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/international/institutionen/europaeische-union-eu.html

Europäische Union EU

Die EU ist mit Abstand die wichtigste Handelspartnerin der Schweizer Landwirtschaft. Im Jahr 2013 gingen 62 % der Schweizer Agrar- und Lebensmittelexporte im Wert von 5,5 Mrd. CHF in die EU; 75 % der Agrareinfuhren im Wert von 8,7 Mrd. CHF stammten aus der EU. Damit haben die Schweizer Agrarausfuhren in die EU gegenüber dem Jahr 2007 um rund 811 Mio. CHF (+17 %) zugenommen. Ein massgeblicher Teil dieser Zunahme ist dabei den landwirtschaftlichen Verarbeitungsprodukten zuzuschreiben. Doch die Käse-Exporte in die EU sind zwischen 2003 und 2013 durchschnittlich um 2,7 % und deren monetärer Wert um 2,3 % pro Jahr gestiegen.

Der Handel mit der EU basiert auf einem engen Netzwerk von bilateralen Verträgen:

Seit 1972 existiert das Freihandelsabkommen (FHA) zwischen der Schweiz und der EU. Es schafft eine Freihandelszone für industrielle Erzeugnisse. Im Protokoll Nr. 2 des FHA wird auch der Handel mit verarbeiteten Agrarprodukten geregelt.

Seit 2002 ist das bilaterale Agrarabkommen zwischen der Schweiz und der EU in Kraft, welches den Handel mit Basisagrarprodukten regelt. Es wird damit keine Freihandelszone geschaffen, aber der gegenseitige Marktzutritt wird durch den Abbau von tarifären und nicht-tarifären Handelshemmnissen für bestimmte Produktsegmente verbessert.

Im November 2008 wurden Verhandlungen für ein umfassendes Abkommen in den Bereichen Landwirtschaft, Lebensmittel- und Produktesicherheit sowie öffentliche Gesundheit aufgenommen.

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 16.08.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/de/home/international/institutionen/europaeische-union-eu.html