Agreement on Agriculture

Fotolia_43246884_Subscription_Monthly_M

The "Agreement between the European Community and the Swiss Confederation on trade in agricultural products" (Agreement on Agriculture) of 21 June 1999 entered into force on 1 June 2002 and improved mutual market access.

The Agreement consists of the framework agreement (regulation of rules of origin, evolutionary and protective clause, settlement of disputes, and establishment of a Joint Committee), tariff concessions, agreements to eliminate technical barriers to trade as well as explanations on various trade issues and products.  

Mutual market access is improved through the reduction of tariffs on selected products as well as through trade facilitation.

The most important points:

  • The Agreement on Agriculture foresees mutual tariff concessions for products that are of particular interest to Switzerland and the EU. This mainly concerns the fruit and vegetable sectors, horticulture as well as meat specialties.
  • Since 1 June 2007, there is free trade for cheese between Switzerland and the EU.
  • The Agreement simplifies trade in the agricultural sector by reducing or even eliminating non-tariff barriers to trade (arising from differing product regulations and import requirements). In this context, certain technical regulations in the areas of plant health, animal feed, seeds, organic farming, wine and spirits as well as quality norms for fruit and vegetables are mutually recognized as being equivalent.
  • The designations for wine and spirits are mutually protected; the protection of Swiss designations normally limited to Swiss territory is thus extended to the EU.
  • With the entry into force of the Agreement on the mutual recognition of the protected designation of origin (PDO) and protected geographical indications (PGI) in December 2011, which was integrated into the Agreement on Agriculture as Annex 12, designations of food and agricultural products, e.g. cheese and sausage products, are mutually recognized.
  • Representatives of the EU and Switzerland meet at least once a year within the Joint Committee on Agriculture. The Committee is responsible for the administration of the agreement and ensures its proper implementation.  
  • The Agreement on Agriculture with all its Annexes is also applicable to traffic between Liechtenstein and the EU since September 2007. This is recorded in an additional agreement signed by all three parties (Switzerland, the EU and Liechtenstein). Liechtenstein is thus part of the Swiss delegation at the annual meeting of the Joint Committee Switzerland-EU.

Further information

Last modification 16.12.2016

Top of page

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/international/institutionen/europaeische-union-eu/agrarabkommen.html

Agrarabkommen

Das Abkommen zwischen der Europäischen Union (EU) und der Schweiz über den Handel mit landwirtschaftlichen Erzeugnissen (Agrarabkommen) vom 21. Juni 1999 ist am 1. Juni 2002 in Kraft getreten. Damit wurde der gegenseitige Marktzutritt verbessert.

Das Agrarabkommen setzt sich zusammen aus Rahmenvertrag (Regelung von Ursprungsregeln, Evolutiv- und Schutzklausel, Streitbeilegung, Einsetzung des Gemischten Ausschusses), aus Zollkonzessionen, Vereinbarungen zur Beseitigung technischer Handelshemmnisse sowie Erklärungen zu diversen Handelsfragen und Produkten.

Durch Zollreduktionen und Zollabbau auf ausgewählten Produkten sowie durch Handelsvereinfachungen wird der gegenseitige Marktzutritt verbessert.

Die wichtigsten Punkte:

  • Das Agrarabkommen sieht gegenseitige Zollkonzessionen für Produkte vor, die für die Schweiz und für die EU von besonderem Interesse sind. Dies betrifft hauptsächlich die Sektoren Früchte und Gemüse, Gartenbau und Fleischspezialitäten.
  • Der Käsemarkt ist vollständig liberalisiert. Seit dem 1. Juni 2007 herrscht freier Handel zwischen den Schweiz und der EU für den Sektor Käse.
  • Das Abkommen vereinfacht den Handel im Landwirtschaftsbereich durch den Abbau oder gar die Aufhebung von nichttarifären Handelshemmnissen (unterschiedliche Produktevorschriften und Zulassungsbestimmungen). In diesem Zusammenhang werden bestimmte technische Vorschriften in den Bereichen Pflanzengesundheit, Futtermittel, Saatgut, biologische Landwirtschaft, Wein und Spirituosen, Veterinärmedizin sowie die Qualitätsnormen für Früchte und Gemüse als gleichwertig anerkannt.
  • Die Bezeichnungen von Weinen und Spirituosen werden gegenseitig geschützt; der normalerweise auf das Schweizer Territorium begrenzte Schutz der Schweizer Bezeichnungen wird somit auf den EU-Raum ausgedehnt.
  • Mit der Inkraftsetzung des Abkommens zur gegenseitigen Anerkennung der geschützten Ursprungsbezeichnungen (GUB) und geschützten geografischen Angaben (GGA) im Dezember 2011, welches als Anhang 12 ins bilaterale Landwirtschaftsabkommen integriert wurde, werden auch Bezeichnungen von Lebensmitteln und landwirtschaftlichen Erzeugnissen, u.a. Käse und Wurstprodukte, gegenseitig anerkannt.
  • Vertreter der EU und der Schweiz treffen sich mind. einmal pro Jahr im Rahmen des Gemischten Ausschusses für Landwirtschaft. Dieser ist mit der Verwaltung des Abkommens betraut und sorgt für dessen ordnungsgemässe Anwendung.
  • Das Agrarabkommen mit allen Anhängen findet seit September 2007 ebenfalls im Verkehr zwischen Liechtenstein und der EU Anwendung. Dies ist in einem Zusatzabkommen festgehalten, das von allen drei Parteien (Schweiz, EU, Fürstentum Liechtenstein) unterzeichnet wurde. Das Fürstentum Liechtenstein bildet daher am jährlichen Treffen des Gemischten Ausschusses Schweiz-EU jeweils Teil der Schweizer Delegation.

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 16.08.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/de/home/international/institutionen/europaeische-union-eu/agrarabkommen.html