FHAL & GesA

Negotiations on increased market access for the entire agrifood value chain as well as on increased cooperation in the areas of food safety, product safety and public health between Switzerland and the EU have been going on since November 2008.

At first the negotiations progressed well. Three comprehensive rounds of negotiation were completed and on agricultural market access for example some important common denominators were found. The negotiations have come to a standstill since mid-2010 due to open institutional questions and domestic political resistance.

A free trade agreement between Switzerland and the EU for agricultural and food products (FHAL) would lead to increased market access for such products for both parties. An agreement would lower tariffs as well as reduce non-tariff barriers to trade, such as differences in regulations and import requirements. Apart from agricultural raw materials (e.g. milk, animals for slaughter) free trade should also cover the pre- and post-agricultural stages in the production chain, in other words, both means of production such as seeds or machinery as well as processed consumer products such as cheese or yoghurt.

A free-trade agreement with the EU would be a logical continuation of existing agricultural reforms with the aim of making Swiss agriculture more competitive at an international level. Opening up towards EU markets would result in lower production costs for Swiss farmers and the processing industry and at the same time improve access to EU markets. Swiss consumers would benefit from lower food prices. A positive effect on the domestic economy's growth is expected, with an estimated long-term rise in GDP of 0.5% or CHF 2 billion per year.

An opening of agricultural markets towards the EU would confront the Swiss agricultural sector with substantial challenges. In order to allow producers to take advantage of new market opportunities to adapt to the new market situation, a free trade agreement would be implemented in stages and accompanied by supportive measures.

Coordination of the negotiations
Directorate for European Affairs DEA

Agriculture


Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG 

Food safety


Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office FSVO

Product safety


State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO (in French)

Public health


Federal Office of Public Health FOPH

Further information

Last modification 20.12.2016

Top of page

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/international/institutionen/europaeische-union-eu/fhal-gesa.html

FHAL & GesA

Seit November 2008 laufen zwischen der Schweiz und der EU Verhandlungen zu einer Marktöffnung der gesamten ernährungswirtschaftlichen Produktionskette sowie einer verstärkten Zusammenarbeit in den Bereichen Lebensmittel- und Produktsicherheit und im Bereich der öffentlichen Gesundheit.

In einer ersten Phase kamen die Verhandlungen gut voran. So wurden bislang drei umfassende Verhandlungsrunden durchgeführt und beispielsweise im Verhandlungsteam «Marktzugang im Agrarbereich» erste wichtige gemeinsame Nenner gefunden. Seit Mitte 2010 sind die Verhandlungen nicht zuletzt aufgrund offener institutioneller Fragen und innenpolitischen Widerstands ins Stocken geraten.

Ein Freihandelsabkommen Schweiz-EU im Agrar- und Lebensmittelbereich (FHAL) soll die Märkte für Landwirtschaftsprodukte und Lebensmittel gegenseitig öffnen. Das Abkommen würde sowohl tarifäre Handelshemmnisse (wie Zölle und Kontingente) als auch nicht-tarifäre Hürden (wie unterschiedliche Produktvorschriften und Zulassungsbestimmungen) abbauen. Neben den landwirtschaftlichen Rohstoffen (wie Milch, Schlachtvieh) sollen zudem auch die der Landwirtschaft vor- und nachgelagerten Stufen der Produktionskette in den Freihandel einbezogen werden, das heisst ebenso die Produktionsmittel (wie Saatgut, Maschinen) als auch die Produkte der Verarbeitungsindustrie (wie Käse, Joghurt).

Durch ein FHAL würde der bisherige agrarpolitische Reformpfad konsequent weiterbeschritten mit dem Ziel, die schweizerische Landwirtschaft international wettbewerbsfähiger zu machen. Eine Öffnung gegenüber der EU würde die Produktionskosten für die Schweizer Landwirte und die Verarbeitungsindustrie senken und gleichzeitig den Zugang auf den EU-Absatzmarkt verbessern. Die Schweizer Konsumenten profitierten von sinkenden Nahrungsmittelpreisen. Für die Volkswirtschaft würde mit einem positiven Wachstumseffekt in der Grössenordnung eines dauerhaften BIP-Anstiegs um 0,5 Prozent oder 2 Milliarden CHF gerechnet.

Die Öffnung stellt die Landwirtschaft vor erhebliche Herausforderungen. Damit die neuen Marktchancen wahrgenommen und die betroffenen Betriebe bei der Neuausrichtung auf die neue Marktsituation unterstützt werden könnten, würde der Freihandel schrittweise eingeführt und von flankierenden Massnahmen begleitet werden.

Koordination der Verhandlungen

Direktion für europäische Angelegenheiten DEA
Landwirtschaft

Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft BLW
Lebensmittelsicherheit

Bundesamt für Lebensmittelsicherheit und Veterinärwesen BLV
Produktsicherheit

Staatssekretariat für Wirtschaft SECO
Öffentliche Gesundheit

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 21.09.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/de/home/international/institutionen/europaeische-union-eu/fhal-gesa.html