Protocol No. 2

Foto Luxenburgerli Protokoll Nr. 2

Protocol No 2 of the 1972 free trade agreement regulates the trade of processed agricultural products between Switzerland and the EU. Products are divided into those which are subject to price compensating measures (Table 1; e.g. milk chocolate, biscuits, baby food) and those for which free trade applies (Table 2; e.g. coffee, jam, water, beer). When the legislation commonly known as the “chocolate law” was abolished on 1 January 2019, export subsidies ended for agricultural raw materials used in processed agricultural products.

The products listed in Table 1 are subject to price compensation measures when traded between Switzerland and the EU. These measures offset the difference in product costs arising due to the price of raw materials. Reference prices and price differences between the EU and Switzerland are determined for certain raw materials (e.g. butter, milk powder, wheat flour) in order to calculate each product’s corresponding customs duties and export subsidies. These reference prices and price differences are listed in Protocol No 2 and are generally updated every year.

As commodity prices in Switzerland are higher than in the EU, this agreement gives Switzerland the right to charge customs duties upon importation of processed agricultural products. The EU, on the other hand, abstains from both export subsidies and customs duties.

This system of price adjustment takes into account the regulations of Protocol No 2 and therefore differentiates between trade with the EU and trade with non-EU countries. The homepage of the Federal Office for Customs and Border Security provides further information. 

 

Last modification 14.04.2022

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG
Trade Relations unit


Schwarzenburgstrasse 165

3003 Bern
Tel:
+41 58 467 68 50

Kilian Widmer

Print contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/international/institutionen/europaeische-union-eu/protokoll-nr-2.html

Protokoll Nr. 2

Luxenburgerli

Das Protokoll Nr. 2 des Freihandelsabkommens von 1972 regelt den Handel von verarbeiteten Landwirtschaftsprodukten zwischen der Schweiz und der EU. Dabei werden die Produkte aufgeteilt in solche, für die Preisausgleichsmassnahmen gelten (Tabelle 1; z. B. Milchschokolade, Biskuits, Kindernährmittel) und solche, für die Freihandel gilt (Tabelle 2; z. B. Kaffee, Konfitüre, Wasser, Bier). Die Ausfuhrbeiträge beim Export für Agrargrundstoffe in verarbeiteten Landwirtschaftsprodukten (sog. «Schoggigesetz») sind am 1. Januar 2019 aufgehoben worden.

Für Produkte der erwähnten Tabelle 1 sollen beim Handel zwischen der EU und der Schweiz rohstoffpreisbedingte Kostenunterschiede ausgeglichen werden. Dazu werden für die relevanten Rohstoffe (z.B. Butter, Milchpulver, Weizenmehl) Referenzpreise und Preisdifferenzen zwischen der EU und der Schweiz erhoben, die dazu dienen, die entsprechenden Grenzabgaben und Ausfuhrbeiträge pro Produkt zu berechnen und festzulegen. Die Referenzpreise und Preisdifferenzen sind im Protokoll Nr. 2 definiert und werden in der Regel jährlich aktualisiert.

Da die Agrarrohstoffpreise in der Schweiz höher sind als in der EU, ist die Schweiz aufgrund dieses Abkommens berechtigt, beim Import von verarbeiteten Agrarprodukten Grenzabgaben zu erheben. Die EU ihrerseits verzichtet sowohl auf Ausfuhrbeiträge wie auch die Erhebung von Grenzabgaben.

Dieses berücksichtigt die Regelungen des Protokoll Nr. 2 und macht deshalb eine Unterscheidung in Bezug auf den Handel mit der EU und den Handel mit nicht-EU-Ländern. Mehr Informationen finden sich auf der Homepage der Oberzolldirektion.

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 31.03.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft BLW Fachbereich Handelsbeziehungen
Schwarzenburgstrasse 165
3003 Bern
Tel.
058 467 68 50

Kilian Widmer

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/de/home/international/institutionen/europaeische-union-eu/protokoll-nr-2.html