FAO

The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations plays a key role in worldwide co-ordination, technical support and networking of research in the areas of food security, basic living conditions of rural communities and sustainable use and management of natural resources.

Objectives of the FAO
The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, FAO, is a specialized UN agency with headquarters in Rome, which was founded in 1945. The FAO has 194 Member Nations, two associate members and one member organisation – the European Union. Since 1 January 2012, the FAO has been headed by the Brazilian José Graziano da Silva.
The core objectives of the FAO include efforts to give every individual access to food security. The FAO defines the concept of food security as follows in its global strategic framework for food security: «Food security is the condition in which all people, at all times, have physical, social and economic access to sufficient safe and nutritious food that meets their dietary needs and food preferences for an active and healthy life.» The four pillars of food security are availability, access, use and stability. The dietary component is a strong element of the concept of food security.
In order to achieve this goal worldwide, a co-ordinated approach is essential. This is where the FAO plays a central role. The FAO pursues the following strategic objectives to achieve this aim:

  • help eliminate hunger, food insecurity and malnutrition;
  • make agriculture, forestry and fisheries more productive and sustainable;
  • reduce rural poverty;
  • enable inclusive and efficient agricultural and food systems;
  • increase the resilience of livelihoods to threats and crises.

    The FAO’s main tool in reaching these objectives is technical support. The organisation is also active as a research network in the area of agricultural and food sciences and advises states on matters of agricultural and development policy. Last but not least, it also acts as a platform for international exchange on agricultural and food sector themes.
    Switzerland has been a member of the FAO since 1946. The government office responsible for the FAO in Switzerland is the FOAG (Federal Office for Agriculture). Switzerland sits on several FAO committees, namely the Committee on World Food Security, the Committee on Agriculture, the Committee on Forestry, the Committee on Commodity Problems and the Commission on Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture.
    The programme of work of the FAO is funded through obligatory and voluntary contributions. Its budget for the period 2016–2017 totals 2.6 billion US dollars. 39 per cent of this is financed by contributions which are raised in the Member Nations and 61 per cent by voluntary contributions from Member Nations and other partners.

Further Information

Last modification 11.02.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG

International Affairs and Food Security

Schwarzenburgstrasse 165

3003 Bern

Switzerland

P
+41 58 48 36613

Madeleine Kaufmann

Print contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/international/institutionen/fao-und-andere-un-organisationen/fao.html

FAO

Die Ernährungs- und Landwirtschaftsorganisation der Vereinten Nationen spielt eine zentrale Rolle bei der weltweiten Koordination, der technischen Unterstützung und der Vernetzung der Forschung im Bereich der Ernährungssicherheit, der Existenzgrundlagen der ländlichen Bevölkerung und der nachhaltigen Nutzung und Verwaltung von natürlichen Ressourcen.

Die Ernährungs- und Landwirtschaftsorganisation der Vereinten Nationen (Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, FAO) ist eine UNO-Sonderorganisation mit Sitz in Rom, die 1945 gegründet wurde. Die FAO zählt 194 Mitgliedstaaten, zwei assoziierte Mitglieder und eine Mitgliedorganisation – die Europäische Union. Geleitet wird die FAO seit dem 1. Januar 2012 vom Brasilianer José Graziano da Silva.

Zu den Kernaufgaben der FAO gehört das Bestreben, jedem einzelnen den Zugang zu Ernährungssicherheit zu ermöglichen. Das Konzept der Ernährungssicherheit wird von der FAO in ihrem globalen strategischen Rahmen für Ernährungssicherheit folgendermassen definiert: «Die Ernährungssicherheit ist dann gewährleistet, wenn allen Menschen zu jeder Zeit der physische, soziale und wirtschaftliche Zugang zu ausreichend gesunden und nahrhaften Nahrungsmitteln gewährleistet ist, die ihre ernährungsphysiologischen Bedürfnisse und Vorlieben befriedigen, um ein gesundes und aktives Leben zu führen.» Die vier Pfeiler der Ernährungssicherheit sind Verfügbarkeit, Zugang, Verwendung und Stabilität. Die ernährungsphysiologische Komponente ist fester Bestandteil des Konzepts der Ernährungssicherheit.
Um dieses Ziel auf globaler Ebene zu erreichen, ist ein koordiniertes Vorgehen unabdingbar. Hier spielt die FAO eine zentrale Rolle. Um dies zu erreichen, verfolgt die FAO die folgenden strategischen Ziele:

  • Hunger, Ernährungsunsicherheit und Fehlernährung bekämpfen; 
  • Landwirtschaft, Forstwirtschaft und Fischerei produktiver und nachhaltiger gestalten; 
  • Armut im ländlichen Raum bekämpfen;
  •  integrative und effiziente Land- und Ernährungssysteme schaffen;
  •  Beständigkeit der Lebensgrundlagen bei Bedrohungen oder in Krisensituationen verbessern.

Das Hauptinstrument der FAO, um diese Ziele zu erreichen, ist die technische Unterstützung. Die Organisation ist zudem als Forschungsnetzwerk im Bereich der Agrar- und Ernährungswissenschaften tätig und berät Staaten in agrar- und entwicklungspolitischen Fragen. Nicht zuletzt dient sie auch als Plattform für den internationalen Austausch zu land- und ernährungswirtschaftlichen Themen.
Die Schweiz ist seit 1946 FAO-Mitglied. Das für die FAO zuständige Amt in der Schweiz ist das BLW. Die Schweiz hat in mehreren Ausschüssen der FAO Einsitz, und zwar im Ausschuss für Welternährungssicherheit, dem Ausschuss für Landwirtschaft, dem Forstausschuss, dem Grundstoffausschuss (Committee on Commodity Problems) und der Kommission für genetische Ressourcen für Ernährung und Landwirtschaft.
Das Arbeitsprogramm der FAO wird über obligatorische und freiwillige Beiträge finanziert. Ihr Budget für die Jahre 2016–2017 beträgt 2,6 Milliarden US-Dollar. Finanziert wird dieses zu 39 Prozent über Beiträge, die bei den Mitgliedstaaten erhoben werden, und zu 61 Prozent über freiwillige Beiträge von Mitgliedstaaten und anderen Partnern.

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 27.09.2017

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft BLW

Fachbereich Internationales, Nachhaltige Entwicklung, Ernährungssysteme

Mattenhofstrasse 5

3003 Bern

Tel.
+41 58 465 71 25

Michaël Würzner

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/de/home/international/institutionen/fao-und-andere-un-organisationen/fao.html