United Nations Organisation (UNO)

The UN (United Nations Organisation) was founded in 1945 after the Second World War by 51 countries committed to maintaining international peace and security, developing friendly relations among nations and promoting social progress, better living standards and human rights.

With its 193 Member States, the United Nations is the only organisation that can take action on a wide range of issues and provide a forum for all interested countries and participants to jointly discuss their views. The work of the United Nations reaches every corner of the globe. This applies both to the topics it deals with as well as to all of its members, their participation in decision-making processes, their role for the development of international norms and standards as well as their global outreach. Despite certain shortcomings, it maintains its unique, worldwide legitimacy.

With its specialised agencies, programmes and organisations, the United Nations has created tools to accomplish a variety of tasks, including the World Food Programme (WFP) as well as the International Foundation for Agricultural Development (IFAD), which have their headquarters in Rome.

As a UN Member, Switzerland is represented with a standing mission in FAO, WFP and IFAD in Rome. The Mission supports Switzerland's commitment to the fight against worldwide hunger and poverty as well as the promotion of sustainable and efficient use of natural resources within agriculture. Switzerland's specific interests particularly related to agriculture include:

  • Determination of and compliance with standards for improved food quality and security as well as for sustainability of the entire food value chain
  • Generating and spreading knowledge on sustainable agriculture and the management of natural resources
  • Optimal preparation to enable an effective reaction to situations concerning food security.

FAO

The FAO, Food and Agriculture Organisation of the United Nations, founded in 1945, is a specialized agency of the UN with headquarters in Rome. The FAO counts  194 member countries, two associate members and a member organisation (the European Union). José Graziano da Silva (Brazil) has been the director of FAO since 1 January 2012.

To achieve food security for all is at the heart of FAO's activities. The notion of food security was defined in 1996 at the World Food Summit in Rome: food security exists when all people at all times have access to sufficient, safe, nutritious food to maintain a healthy and active life.

International coordination is necessary in order to achieve this objective; this is where FAO plays a key role. Its three specific goals are:

  • the eradication of hunger, food insecurity and malnutrition
  • the elimination of poverty and the promotion of economic and social progress for all
  • the sustainable management and utilization of natural resources, including land, water, air, climate and genetic resources for the benefit of present and future generations.

FAO's most important tool to reach these goals is technical support. However, the FAO is also active as a research and knowledge network in the areas of agriculture and nutrition and advises countries in their agriculture and development policies. At the same time, the FAO is a platform for international exchange on agriculture and nutrition.

Switzerland has been a member of the FAO since 1946. The responsible federal agencies are the Federal Office for Agriculture - FOAG, with the Swiss FAO Secretariat, and the Swiss Development Cooperation - SDC. Switzerland is also a member of several FAO committees: Committee on Agriculture, Committee on Forestry and Committee on Commodity Problems as well as the Commission on Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture.

The FAO's programmes are funded by compulsory and voluntary contributions. Its budget for 2014-2015 amounts to 2.4 billion US dollars, 41% of which stems from the member countries' compulsory contributions and 59% from voluntary contributions by the member countries together with other partners.

Last modification 15.03.2017

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG

International Affairs and Food Security

Schwarzenburgstrasse 165

3003 Bern

Switzerland

P
+41 58 48 36613

Madeleine Kaufmann

Print contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/international/institutionen/fao-und-andere-un-organisationen/uno.html

United Nations Organisation (UNO)

Die UNO (United Nations Organization) wurde 1945 nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg von 51 Staaten gegründet, um den internationalen Frieden, Sicherheit und gute Beziehungen zwischen allen Staaten zu stärken sowie soziale und wirtschaftliche Entwicklung zu fördern und die Einhaltung der Menschenrechte zu sichern.

Die Ernährungs- und Landwirtschaftsorganisation der Vereinten Nationen spielt eine zentrale Rolle bei der weltweiten Koordination, der technischen Unterstützung und der Vernetzung der Forschung im
Bereich der Ernährungssicherheit, der Existenzgrundlagen der ländlichen Bevölkerung und der nachhaltigen Nutzung und Verwaltung von natürlichen Ressourcen.

Mit ihren 193 Mitgliedsstaaten sind die Vereinten Nationen in vielen Fragen von weltweiter Bedeutung die einzige Organisation, in der sich alle interessierten Länder und Akteure an einer Diskussion beteiligen können. Die UNO ist so universell wie keine andere Organisation. Dies gilt sowohl für die behandelten Themen als auch für ihre Mitglieder, ihre Beteiligung an Entscheidungsprozessen, ihre Rolle bei der Erarbeitung internationaler Normen und Standards sowie für ihre weltumspannende Ausstrahlung. Trotz gewisser Unzulänglichkeiten besitzt sie weltweit nach wie vor eine einzigartige Legitimität.

Die Vereinten Nationen haben mit zahlreichen Organen, Sonderprogrammen und Spezialorganisationen die Werkzeuge geschaffen, um die unterschiedlichsten Aufgaben zu bewältigen. Dazu gehören die Welternährungsorganisation (bekannt unter dem Kürzel FAO für Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations), das Welternährungsprogramm (WFP) sowie der Internationale Fonds für landwirtschaftliche Entwicklung (IFAD), alle mit Sitz in Rom.

Die Schweiz wird als UN-Mitglied durch ihre ständige Vertretung (Mission) bei FAO, WFP und IFAD in Rom vertreten. Die Mission unterstützt das Engagement der Schweiz für die Bekämpfung des weltweiten Hungers und der Armut sowie für eine nachhaltige und effiziente Nutzung natürlicher Ressourcen in der landwirtschaftlichen Produktion. Zu den spezifischen Interessen der Schweiz zählen dabei insbesondere:

  • Festlegung und Einhaltung von Standards für eine verbesserte Nahrungsmittelqualität und - Sicherheit sowie für die Nachhaltigkeit der gesamten Lebensmittel-Wertschöpfungskette
  • Wissensgenerierung und -verbreitung im Bereich nachhaltiger Landwirtschaft und beim Management natürlicher Ressourcen
  • Optimale Vorbereitung für eine effektive Reaktion auf Situationen mit Ernährungsunsicherheit

FAO
Die Ernährungs- und Landwirtschaftsorganisation oder auch Welternährungsorganisation (bekannt unter dem Kürzel FAO für Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations) ist eine Sonderorganisation der Vereinten Nationen mit Sitz in Rom, die 1945 gegründet wurde. Die FAO zählt 194 Mitgliedstaaten, zwei assoziierte Mitglieder und eine Mitgliedsorganisation (Europäische Union). Geleitet wird die FAO seit dem 1. Januar 2012 von José Graziano da Silva (Brasilien).

Leitgedanke der FAO ist das Bestreben, Ernährungssicherheit für alle Menschen zu erreichen. Das Konzept der Ernährungssicherheit wurde 1996 am Welthungergipfel in Rom definiert. Gemäss der von über 100 Staatschefs unterzeichneten Erklärung von Rom, ist die Ernährungssicherheit dann erreicht, wenn alle Menschen zu jeder Zeit physisch und ökonomisch Zugang zu ausreichend gesunden und nahrhaften Lebensmitteln haben, die ihren Energiebedarf decken und ihren Essgewohnheiten entsprechen, um ein gesundes und aktives Leben zu führen.

Um dieses Ziel weltweit zu erreichen, bedarf es internationaler Koordination, wofür die FAO eine zentrale Rolle spielt. Ihre drei spezifischen Ziele sind:

  • Bekämpfung von Hunger, Ernährungsunsicherheit und Mangelernährung
  • Beseitigung von Armut und Förderung des sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Fortschritts für alle
  • Nachhaltige Management und Nutzung von natürlichen Ressourcen wie Boden, Wasser, Luft, Klima und genetische Ressourcen zugunsten heutiger und künftiger Generationen.

Das wichtigste Mittel der FAO zur Erreichung dieser Ziele ist die technische Hilfeleistung. Aber die FAO ist ebenfalls aktiv als Forschungs- und Wissensnetzwerk im Bereich Agrarwissenschaft und Ernährung und berät die Staaten bei ihrer Agrar- und Entwicklungspolitik. Gleichzeitig ist die FAO eine Plattform für den internationalen Austausch über Agrar- und Ernährungsthemen.

Die Schweiz ist seit 1946 Mitglied der FAO. Die beiden verantwortlichen Bundesämter sind das BLW mit dem Schweizerischen nationalen FAO Komitee (CNS-FAO). Die Schweiz ist Mitglied in mehreren Komitees der FAO: Committee on World Food Security, Committee on Agriculture, Committee on Forestry und Committee on Commodity Problems sowie in der Commission on genetic resources for food and agriculture.

Das Arbeitsprogramm der FAO wird über obligatorische und freiwillige Beiträge finanziert. Ihr Budget für 2014-2015 beträgt 2,4 Milliarden US-Dollar und setzt sich zu 41 Prozent aus Pflichtbeiträgen der Mitgliedstaaten und zu 59 Prozent aus freiwilligen Beiträgen der Mitgliedstaaten und anderer Partner zusammen.

 

Letzte Änderung 10.03.2017

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft BLW

Fachbereich Internationales, Nachhaltige Entwicklung, Ernährungssysteme

Mattenhofstrasse 5

3003 Bern

Tel.
+41 58 465 71 25

Michaël Würzner

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/de/home/international/institutionen/fao-und-andere-un-organisationen/uno.html