Mountain Partnership

Mountain regions cover 66% of Switzerland and 24% of the world’s land mass. They are home to 13% of the world’s population, the majority of whom live in poverty and whose food security is under threat. International governance of mountain regions is relevant because mountain regions often cross national borders and because their ecosystem services also benefit distant areas.

The Mountain Partnership is an alliance of states, international organisations and NGOs, which work together to achieve sustainable conservation of mountainous regions and to improve living conditions for mountain peoples. The Swiss Federal Office for Agriculture (FOAG) supports the Mountain Partnership secretariat, which is based at the FAO in Rome. One of the secretariat’s main tasks is to assist the various members in implementing joint initiatives in the area of sustainable mountain development and to foster their co-operation.

The Mountain Partnership serves as a platform for members, gathering, generating and sharing knowledge and relevant information to increase awareness of mountain themes. It also promotes relations and co-operation between different actors by acting as intermediary and lays down conditions for collaboration and resource mobilisation at national, regional and global level.

The Mountain Partnership aims to gather practical information gained through implementation of the Mountain Agenda and to draw up recommendations for concrete political measures to strengthen mountain regions. Furthermore, the Mountain Partnership also aims to raise global awareness and deepen the commitment of the international community to promote sustainable mountain development.  

Further Information

Last modification 15.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG

International Affairs and Food Security

Schwarzenburgstrasse 165

3003 Bern

p.
+41 58 46 97636

Michaël Sapin

Print contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/international/institutionen/multistakeholder-partnerschaften/cbd.html

Mountain Partnership

Die Mountain Partnership setzt sich für den nachhaltigen Schutz von Gebirgsregionen und die Verbesserung der Lebensbedingungen der Bergbevölkerung einsetzen.

Berggebiete bedecken in der Schweiz 66% und weltweit 24% der Landfläche und beherbergen 13% der Weltbevölkerung, wovon ein Grossteil in Armut lebt und deren Ernährungssicherheit gefährdet ist. Die internationale Gouvernanz von Berggebieten ist relevant, da Berggebiete häufig grenzübergreifend sind und da deren Ökosystemdienstleistungen auch weit entfernten Gebieten zugutekommen.

Die Mountain Partnership ist ein Zusammenschluss von Staaten, internationalen Organisationen und NGOs, welche sich für den nachhaltigen Schutz von Gebirgsregionen und die Verbesserung der Lebensbedingungen der Bergbevölkerung einsetzen. Das BLW unterstützt das Mountain Partnership Sekretariat, welches bei der FAO in Rom eingerichtet ist. Eine Hauptaufgabe des Sekretariates ist es, den verschiedenen Mitgliedern in der Umsetzung der gemeinsamen Initiativen im Bereich Nachhaltiger Bergentwicklung zu assistieren und deren Kooperation zu fördern.

Die Mountain Partnership dient als Plattform für die Mitglieder. Sie sammelt, generiert und teilt Wissen und relevante Informationen zur Erkenntnissteigerung in Gebirgsthemen. Zudem fördert die Mountain Partnership Beziehungen und Kooperationen verschiedener Akteure, agiert als Vermittler und legt Bedingungen für die Zusammenarbeit und die Ressourcenmobilisierung auf nationaler, regionaler und globaler Ebene fest.

Die Mountain Partnership zielt darauf ab, Erkenntnisse, die in der Umsetzung der Mountain Agenda in der Praxis gesammelt wurden, zusammenzutragen und Empfehlungen für konkrete politische Massnahmen zur Stärkung von Berggebieten zu erarbeiten. Weiter will die Mountain Partnership die globale Aufmerksamkeit und das Engagement der internationalen Gesellschaft zur Förderung einer nachhaltigen Gebirgsentwicklung steigern.  

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 22.03.2017

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft BLW

Fachbereich Internationales, Nachhaltige Entwicklung, Ernährungssysteme

Mattenhofstrasse 5

3003 Bern

Tel.
+41 58 465 71 56

Jeanine Volken

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/de/home/international/institutionen/multistakeholder-partnerschaften/cbd.html