Global Agenda for Sustainable Livestock

The objective of this multi-stakeholder partnership (Global Agenda for Sustainable Livestock) is sustainable development of the livestock sector through efficient use of natural resources.

Livestock farming is of great importance for food security. Considerable global efforts are required in agricultural research and investment, together with firm governance, if the livestock sector worldwide is to keep up with the increased demand for food from livestock and the changing consumption needs of the population. At the same time, there is pressure on the sector to help combat poverty, to improve food security and to protect the environment and human health.

The Global Agenda for Sustainable Livestock (GASL) is an initiative which aims to achieve sustainable development of the livestock sector through efficient use of natural resources. The Global Agenda has 56 Members and comprises representatives from government, the private sector, science, non-governmental organisations, social movements and community organisations as well as international organisations. The Global Agenda provides a platform for bringing together different stakeholders from the livestock sector and for promoting political dialogue, exchange of knowledge and experience and joint action to achieve a sustainable livestock sector. The diversity of the membership, which is rooted regionally and locally, allows the Global Agenda to deal comprehensively with the multiple challenges facing sustainable development of the livestock sector.

The Global Agenda’s Programme of Work for 2016-2018 is based primarily on the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) relevant for the livestock sector and strives to make a contribution to achieving these goals. The Programme of Work consists of three main focuses:

  • Closing gaps in efficiency
  • Exploiting meadows and pasture land, and
  • Fully exploiting animal waste.  

Further Information

Last modification 15.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG

International Affairs and Food Security

Schwarzenburgstrasse 165

3003 Bern

P
+41 58 465 17 00

Alwin Kopše

Print contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/international/institutionen/multistakeholder-partnerschaften/global-agenda-for-sustainable-livestock.html

Global Agenda for Sustainable Livestock

Das Ziel dieser Multi-Stakeholder-Partnerschaft (Globale Agenda für nachhaltige Tierproduktion) ist eine nachhaltige Entwicklung des Nutztiersektors durch die effiziente Nutzung der natürlichen Ressourcen.

Die Tierzucht ist für die Ernährungssicherheit von grosser Bedeutung. Global sind erhebliche Anstrengungen in der Agrarforschung und Investitionen – verbunden mit einer soliden Gouvernanz – nötig, damit der Nutztiersektor weltweit dem Anstieg der Nachfrage nach Lebensmitteln tierischen Ursprungs und den sich verändernden Konsumbedürfnissen der Bevölkerung nachkommen kann. Gleichzeitig besteht der Anspruch an den Sektor, einen Beitrag zur Bekämpfung von Armut, zur Verbesserung der Ernährungssicherheit sowie zum Schutz der Umwelt und der Gesundheit des Menschen zu leisten.

Die Globale Agenda für nachhaltige Tierproduktion (Global Agenda for Sustainable Livestock, GASL) ist eine Initiative, die eine nachhaltige Entwicklung des Nutztiersektors durch eine effiziente Nutzung der natürlichen Ressourcen zum Ziel hat. Die Globale Agenda umfasst 56 Mitglieder und setzt sich aus Vertretern von Regierungen, dem Privatsektor, der Wissenschaft, Nichtregierungsorganisationen, Sozialen Bewegungen und lokalen Organisationen sowie zwischenstaatlichen Organisationen zusammen. Die Globale Agenda bietet eine Plattform, um die unterschiedlichen Stakeholder des Nutztiersektors zusammenbringen und den politischen Dialog, den Austausch von Wissen und Erfahrungen sowie ein gemeinsames Handeln für einen nachhaltigen Nutztiersektor zu fördern. Die Diversität der Mitglieder, die regional und lokal verwurzelt sind, ermöglicht der Globalen Agenda die vielfältigen Herausforderungen für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung des Nutztiersektors umfassend zu behandeln.

Das Arbeitsprogramm der Globalen Agenda von 2016-2018 orientiert sich primär an den für den Nutztiersektor relevanten UNO-Nachhaltigkeitszielen (SDGs) und will einen Beitrag zum Erreichen dieser Ziele leisten. Das Arbeitsprogramm besteht aus drei Hauptachsen:

  • Schliessung von Effizienzlücken
  • Inwertsetzung von Wiesen und Weideland sowie
  • einer vollständigen Inwertsetzung von tierischen Abfällen.  

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 22.03.2017

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft BLW

Fachbereich Internationales, Nachhaltige Entwicklung, Ernährungssysteme

Mattenhofstrasse 5

3003 Bern

Tel.
+41 58 465 17 00

Alwin Kopše

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/de/home/international/institutionen/multistakeholder-partnerschaften/global-agenda-for-sustainable-livestock.html