Evaluation of agricultural policy developments

Every year the OECD describes and evaluates agricultural developments in its Member countries and other partner countries.

With this report agricultural policy development in member states get described and evaluated annually. One focus is on a clear and distinct analysis on the level and composition of public support in favor of the agricultural sector using indicators like the Producer Support Estimate (PSE). The annual Report is aimed at governments, but also the media, researchers, non-governmental organisations and other interested parties.

The countries analysed, which now number more than 50, for the most part pursue similar goals in their agricultural policy, e.g.

  • providing reliable access to safe, healthy and nutritious food
  • enabling producers to improve their living standards by their activities in line with market requirements
  • contributing to rural community well-being, in particular by providing a range of ecosystem services
  • increasing the resilience of farm households in the face of risks.
     

However, countries attach different weights to these goals and approach them differently, and this is reflected in differing policy mixes. Moreover, the most recent agreements and negotiations as part of the 2030 Agenda (incl. SDGs), the COP21 and the WTO Ministerial Conference in Nairobi build an important international framework for the various agricultural sectorial policies.

In its annual Agricultural Policy Monitoring and Evaluation Report, the OECD also compares levels of support to agriculture. The report focuses on the clearest possible analysis of support to agriculture in the countries covered using different indicators. For example, the Producer Support Estimate (PSE) is used for uniform and comparable information on the level and structure of support to agriculture.

The annual Report is aimed at governments, but also the media, researchers, non-governmental organisations and other interested parties.

In general the OECD makes the following recommendations:

  • national policies and measures need to be coherent
  • policy measures must be transparent, targeted, tailored, flexible, consistent and equitable against the background of scarce government resources
  • make innovation a priority to achieve sustainable productivity growth
     

According to the OECD Report 2016, Switzerland, along with Iceland, Japan, Korea and Norway, has one of the highest levels of farm support of the compared countries (measured as percentage PSE). Close to 60% of the gross receipts of Swiss farms come from government transfers either from consumers or from tax payers (OECD average 17%). However, there is a clear difference in the structure of farm support between the countries. In Switzerland around 50% of government transfers are considered to be most distorting support.

The agricultural policy reforms, which have been carried out in Switzerland since the 1990s, have considerably reduced market distortions. Price supporting measures have been replaced by direct payments which are independent of production and increasingly more target specific. However, the level of farm support in Switzerland remains high in comparison with other countries.

The OECD’s Producer Support Estimate (PSE) is a widely recognised and frequently used indicator for the international comparison of agricultural policies. There is a lack of alternative indicators and base data. Nevertheless, the following points should be remembered when interpreting this indicator:

  • The PSE is used to assess farm support in total (in CHF) and relative terms (as % of gross farm receipts). However, the PSE tells us nothing about the costs environment or spending power in the different countries.Therefore, nothing can be said about the extent to which agricultural income (revenue-costs) is supported by government intervention and how much remaining francs or dollars are worth for the farmer and his family in the relevant country.

  • The annual increases and decreases in calculated border protection are often not due to changes to the border protection regime (e.g. raising or lowering of customs duty). External factors (such as price development on international agricultural markets and/or price and currency fluctuations) have a much greater effect on the level of border protection in the short and medium term. So the calculated border protection for Switzerland since 2013 has risen substantially due mainly to the strength of the Swiss franc following decisions by the National Bank.

High spending power, willingness of consumers to pay (particularly for Swiss products) and high structural costs (e.g. wages) result in a higher price environment in Switzerland than in other countries and not just in the food sector. These structurally-based price differences are therefore only partly attributable to border protection, but in the PSE they influence the level of calculated border protection.

Further Information

Last modification 20.03.2017

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG

International Affairs and Food Security

Schwarzenburgstrasse 165

3003 Bern

T
+41 58 468 70 91

Kate Dassesse

Print contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/international/institutionen/oecd/monitoring-und-evaluation-agrarpolitik.html

Bewertung agrarpolitischer Entwicklungen

Die OECD beschreibt und bewertet jedes Jahr agrarpolitische Entwicklungen in ihren Mitglieds- und weiteren Partnerländern.

Mit diesem jährlich publizierten Bericht werden agrarpolitische Entwicklungen in den Mitgliedsländern und weiteren Partnerländern beschrieben und bewertet. Ein Schwerpunkt bildet die klare und möglichst eindeutige Analyse der Niveaus und Zusammensetzung der Agrarstützung in den Ländern mit Indikatoren wie Producer Support Estimate (PSE). Zielpublikum dieses Berichts sind Regierungen, aber auch Medien, Forschende, NGOs und weitere Interessierte.

Die mittlerweile über 50 analysierten Staaten verfolgen mehrheitlich ähnliche Ziele mit ihrer Agrarpolitik, z.B.

  • einen zuverlässigen Zugang zu sicheren, gesunden und nahrhaften Lebensmitteln ermöglichen
  • die Produzenten in die Lage versetzen, ihren Lebensstandard durch ihre Geschäftstätigkeit entsprechend von Marktbedürfnissen zu verbessern
  • einen Beitrag zur Sicherstellung guter Lebensbedingungen für die ländliche Bevölkerung leisten, insbesondere durch die Bereitstellung einer Reihe von Ökosystemleistungen
  • die Anpassungsfähigkeit der landwirtschaftlichen Haushalte gegenüber Risiken verbessern
     

Allerdings gewichten die Länder diese Ziele unterschiedlich und verfolgen somit verschiedene Lösungsansätze, was sich in unterschiedlichen Politikmixen niederschlägt. Zudem bilden die jüngst verabschiedeten Abkommen und Verhandlungen im Rahmen der Agenda 2030 (inkl. SDGs), der COP21 sowie der WTO-Ministerrunde in Nairobi einen wichtigen internationalen Rahmen für die verschiedenen landwirtschaftlichen Sektorpolitiken.

Die OECD vergleicht in ihrem jährlichen Agricultural Policy Monitoring and Evaluation Bericht insbesondere auch die Niveaus der Agrarstützungen. Ein Schwerpunkt bildet die klare und möglichst eindeutige Analyse der Agrarstützung in den Ländern mittels verschiedener Indikatoren. Beispielsweise wird das Erzeugerstützungsmass (PSE, Producer Support Estimate) für einheitliche und vergleichbare Informationen zu Niveau und Struktur der Agrarstützung verwendet.
Zielpublikum des jährlichen Berichts sind Regierungen, aber auch Medien, Forschende, Nichtregierungsorganisationen und weitere Interessierte.

Die OECD empfiehlt generell:

  • Auf Kohärenz nationaler Politiken und Massnahmen muss geachtet werden
  • Politische Massnahmen müssen transparent, zielgerichtet, angemessen, flexibel, konsistent und ausgewogen sein vor dem Hintergrund knapper öffentlicher Gelder
  • Innovationen gilt als ein wichtiger Fokus für ein nachhaltiges Produktivitätswachstum
     

Gemäss OECD-Bericht 2016 hat die Schweiz neben Island, Japan, Korea, Norwegen eine der höchsten Agrarstützungen der verglichenen Länder (gemessen als prozentuales PSE). Knapp 60% der Bruttoeinnahmen der Schweizer Landwirtschaft stammen aus öffentlichen Transfers entweder vom Verbraucher oder vom Steuerzahler (OECD-Schnitt 17%). Allerdings unterscheidet sich die Struktur der Agrarstützung zwischen den Ländern deutlich. In der Schweiz gelten ca. 50% der öffentlichen Transfers als besonders marktverzerrend (most distorting support).
Die seit Anfang der 1990er Jahre durchgeführten agrarpolitischen Reformen in der Schweiz haben die Marktverzerrungen allerdings massgeblich verringert. Die preisstützenden Massnahmen wurden in produktionsunabhängige und zunehmend zielgenauere Direktzahlungen umgelagert. Dennoch bleibt das Niveau der Agrarstützung in der Schweiz hoch im Vergleich mit anderen Ländern.

Das Erzeugerstützungsmass (PSE, Producer Support Estimate) der OECD ist für den internationalen Vergleich von Agrarpolitiken ein breit anerkannter und viel verwendeter Indikator. Alternative Indikatoren und Datengrundlagen fehlen. Nichts desto trotz gilt es folgende Punkte bei der Interpretation dieses Indikators zu beachten:
 

  • Mit dem PSE wird die Stützung der Landwirtschaft absolut (in CHF) und relativ (in % zum Produktionserlös) geschätzt. Das PSE sagt aber nichts aus über das Kostenumfeld und die Kaufkraft in den verschiedenen Ländern. Daher lässt es keine Aussagen zu, wie stark das landwirtschaftliche Einkommen (Erlös-Kosten) durch staatliche Interventionen gestützt wird und wie viel der übrigbleibende Franken bzw. Dollar für den Landwirt und seine Familie im entsprechenden Land wert ist.

  • Die jährlichen Zu- und Abnahmen des berechneten Grenzschutzes sind oft nicht auf Änderungen beim Grenzschutzregime (z.B. Erhöhung oder Senkung der Zölle) zurückzuführen. Vielmehr beeinflussen exogene Faktoren (wie die Preisentwicklung auf den internationalen Agrarmärkten und/oder Kurs- und Währungsschwankungen) kurz- und mittelfristig die Höhe des Grenzschutzes. So ist der errechnete Grenzschutz für die Schweiz seit 2013 v.a. aufgrund des Erstarkens des Schweizer Frankens infolge der Nationalbankentscheide substanziell angestiegen.

     

Die hohe Kaufkraft, die Zahlungsbereitschaft der Konsumentinnen und Konsumenten (insbesondere für Schweizer Produkte) und die hohen Strukturkosten (z.B. Löhne) führen in der Schweiz nicht nur im Lebensmittelsektor zu einem höheren Preisumfeld als im Ausland. Diese strukturell bedingten Preisdifferenzen sind daher nur bedingt auf den Grenzschutz zurückzuführen, beeinflussen aber im PSE die Höhe des berechneten Grenzschutzes.

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 19.07.2017

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft BLW

Fachbereich Internationales, Nachhaltige Entwicklung, Ernährungssysteme

Mattenhofstrasse 5

3003 Bern

Tel.
+41 58 462 25 95

Michael Hartmann

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/de/home/international/institutionen/oecd/monitoring-und-evaluation-agrarpolitik.html