WTO

The World Trade Organisation (WTO) is the only global international organisation dealing with the rules for trade between nations. It forms the legal framework of the multilateral trading system.

The organisation, whose headquarters are located in Geneva, was founded in 1995 as the result of seven years of negotiations within the so-called Uruguay Round. During these negotiations, the WTO was created as the institutional framework for the General Agreement on Tariffs and
Trade (GATT), which has existed since 1948. Additional agreements on further aspects of trade have been integrated into the WTO.

As an institution, the WTO provides a platform for member countries to discuss their trade issues and to find joint rules. The WTO thus pursues three main goals:

  1. Creation and maintenance of a system of rules for international trade to improve transparency and predictability
  2. Reducing barriers to trade
  3. Founding of a forum to settle trade disputes

 

WTO members meet in several different committees and working groups that deal with individual topics of the WTO trade rules. The Committee on Agriculture deals with agriculture topics. Some agriculture-related aspects, such as geographical indications, plant and animal health measures or import licenses, are also dealt with in other committees. 

The WTO is particularly important for Switzerland: as a small country, Switzerland has a strong interest in a well-functioning multilateral organisation where every country's vote has equal weight and value, thus creating dependable regulations upon which everyone can rely. In the WTO's multilateral trading system, such negotiated rules of the game carry more weight than pure market power. 

Further information

Last modification 12.08.2016

Top of page

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/international/institutionen/wto.html

WTO

Die WTO - die Welthandelsorganisation - regelt den grenzüberschreitenden Handel zwischen Ländern und bildet den rechtlichen Rahmen des multilateralen Handelssystems.

Gegründet wurde die Organisation mit Sitz in Genf 1995 als Ergebnis siebenjähriger Verhandlungen innerhalb der sogenannten Uruguay Runde. In diesen Verhandlungen wurde die WTO als institutioneller Rahmen für das seit 1948 bestehende Allgemeine Zoll- und Handelsabkommen (GATT) ins Leben gerufen. Neben dem GATT wurden noch zusätzliche Verträge über weitere Aspekte des Handels in die WTO integriert.

Als Organisation kann man sich die WTO wie einen grossen Tisch vorstellen, der die Mitgliedsländer dazu einlädt, ihre Anliegen im Bereich des Handels zu diskutieren und gemeinsame Regeln zu finden. Auf diese Weise werden in der WTO drei Ziele verfolgt:

  1. Schaffung und Erhalt eines Regelsystems für den internationalen Handel, um Transparenz und Vorhersehbarkeit zu verbessern
  2. Abbau von Handelshemmnissen
  3. Gründung eines Forums zur Streitschlichtung in Handelsfragen

 

Die Mitglieder der WTO treffen sich in verschiedenen Komitees und Arbeitsgruppen, die sich mit den einzelnen Themen des WTO-Regelwerkes befassen. Mit Landwirtschaftsthemen befasst sich das Agrarkomitee. Einzelne Aspekte, welche die Landwirtschaft betreffen - wie geographische Angaben, pflanzen- und tiergesundheitliche Massnahmen oder Importlizenzen - werden aber auch in anderen Komitees behandelt.

Für die Schweiz ist die WTO besonders wichtig: Als kleines Land ist sie interessiert an einer multilateralen Organisation, in der die Stimme jedes Landes gleichviel zählt und die auf dieser Basis verlässliche Regeln schafft. Im multilateralen Handelssystem der WTO zählen solche ausgehandelten Spielregeln mehr als Marktmacht.

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 16.08.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/de/home/international/institutionen/wto.html