Doha Round of negotiations

Book Fotolia_43976700_Subscription_Monthly_XL

The WTO not only handles the implementation of the current agreements, but also intends to further develop the regulatory framework. This is the reason for the negotiation rounds, from which the WTO as an institution has emerged. The current round on world trade talks, the so-called Doha Round, started in 2001. With the final objectives to reduce trade barriers and increase transparency, different topics are negotiated, including agriculture.

The Doha Round covers a package of trade topics which ministers of economic affairs and trade of the WTO members have been negotiating since their 2001 conference in Doha and were supposed to conclude by 2005.  It has, however, not yet been possible to finalize negotiations due to members' differing views on several topics.

The negotiations mandate for the agriculture sector has five goals: 

  1. Improved market access
  2. Elimination of export subsidies 
  3. Reduction of trade-distorting domestic support
  4. Dealing with specific problems of developing countries
  5. Inclusion of non-trade issues such as food security or rural development (therefore it is also called the "Doha Development Round")

 

The agriculture negotiations take place in special meetings of the Committee on Agriculture, which are scheduled as required. The countries have joined together in negotiating groups, which coordinate mutual interests, positions and proposals. Switzerland is a member of the G10, a group of net-importers of agricultural products, whose members include Iceland, Israel, Japan, Liechtenstein, Mauritius, Norway, South Korea and Taiwan. The G10 members share market access sensitivity and advocate non-trade issues in agriculture.

The agriculture negotiations have progressed significantly with regard to content. The current status is reflected in the modalities text of December 2008 - the last consolidated draft. However, negotiations slowed down considerably after 2008. The Ministers' Conference of December 2011 recognized that there are significant disagreements in the Doha negotiations and that it will not be realistic to conclude the entire negotiation package anytime soon. The work in Geneva is thus
concentrating on partial aspects of the modalities text and is aiming at an early partial completion of the Doha package.

Further Information

Last modification 12.08.2016

Top of page

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/international/institutionen/wto/doha-verhandlungen.html

Doha-Verhandlungen

Book Fotolia_43976700_Subscription_Monthly_XL

Die Doha-Runde bezeichnet ein Paket von Themen, die die Wirtschafts- und Handelsminister der WTO-Mitgliedsstaaten 2001 auf ihrer Konferenz in Doha verhandeln und eigentlich bis 2005 abschliessen sollten. Zu einem Verhandlungsabschluss kam es aber aufgrund vieler kontroverser Ansichten der Mitglieder zu verschiedenen Bereichen bis heute nicht.

Die WTO kümmert sich nicht nur um die Implementierung der bestehenden Abkommen, sondern will das Regelwerk auch weiterentwickeln. Hierzu dienen die Welthandelsrunden, aus denen die WTO entstanden ist. 2001 wurden die aktuelle Welthandelsrunde, die sogenannt Doha-Runde, eröffnet. Mit dem Ziel Handelshemmnisse abzubauen und die Transparenz zu erhöhen wird zu verschiedenen Themen verhandelt. So auch zur Landwirtschaft.

Das Verhandlungsmandat im Bereich der Landwirtschaft sieht dabei fünf Ziele vor:

  1. Verbesserter Marktzugang
  2. Abschaffung der Exportsubventionen
  3. Reduktion der handelsverzerrenden heimischen Stützung
  4. Behandlung spezifischer Probleme von Entwicklungsländern
  5. Einbezug von Nicht-Handelsanliegen wie Ernährungssicherheit oder ländliche Entwicklung (daher manchmal auch „Doha-Entwicklungsrunde" genannt)

 

Die Agrarverhandlungen finden in speziellen Sitzungen des Agrarkomitees statt, die je nach Bedarf angesetzt werden. Die Länder haben sich dabei zu Verhandlungsgruppen zusammengeschlossen. In diesen werden gemeinsame Interessen, Positionen und Vorschläge koordiniert. Die Schweiz ist Mitglied der G10, einer Gruppe von Netto-Agrarimporteuren, zu der auch Island, Israel, Japan, Lichtenstein, Mauritius, Norwegen, Südkorea und Taiwan gehören. Die G10-Mitglieder teilen Sensibilitäten beim Marktzugang und machen sich für Nicht-Handelsanliegen in der Landwirtschaft stark.

Inhaltlich sind die Agrarverhandlungen weit vorangeschritten. Der aktuelle Stand spiegelt sich im Modalitätentext vom Dezember 2008 wieder - dem letzten konsolidierten Entwurf. Jedoch haben sich die Verhandlungen nach 2008 stark verlangsamt. Anlässlich Ministerkonferenz vom Dezember 2011 wurde schliesslich anerkannt, dass erhebliche Differenzen in den Doha-Verhandlungen bestehen und dass ein zeitnaher Abschluss des gesamten Verhandlungspaketes nicht realistisch ist. Somit konzentrieren sich die Arbeiten in Genf nun auf Teilaspekte aus dem Modalitätentext. Es wird ein vorzeitiger Teilabschluss des Doha-Pakets angestrebt.

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 27.06.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/de/home/international/institutionen/wto/doha-verhandlungen.html