Follow-up and Review (High-Level Political Forum)

A participatory and efficient follow-up and review mechanism for the 2030 Agenda is essential for the success of the SDGs.

An efficient follow-up and review mechanism is required in order to be able to measure progress in achieving the SDGs. It should first and foremost include contributions from individual countries, but should also take account of those from other relevant actors such as international organisations, NGOs and the private sector.

The following framework conditions are important for the contributions of individual states to follow-up and review of the 2030 Agenda:

  • All states should draw up holistic national strategies for implementing the 2030 Agenda as soon as possible;

  • The High-Level Political Forum on Sustainable Development (HLPF) acts as a central committee for the global follow-up and review mechanism. This mechanism will run in a four-year cycle. The HLPF will meet once a year under the UN Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and every four years under the UN General Assembly as a meeting at heads of state and government level.

  • Every country is to report regularly until 2030. The first cycle will end in 2019 with the next UN Summit. Within this first four-year period, Member States are asked to clarify implementation of the 2030 Agenda at national level and its integration into national strategies, and to report to the UN.
     

At national level, the Swiss Federal Council has entrusted the interdepartmental „National 2030 Agenda Working Group“ (AA2030) with the task of drawing up an initial Swiss Country Report as input for the 2018 HLPF. The FOAG is an active member of the AA2030, which is led jointly by the SDC (Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation) and ARE (Federal Office for Spatial Development).

Apart from the global level, regional committees and relevant existing international forums will also be involved in the 2030 Agenda follow-up and review mechanism. For example, Switzerland is supporting the proposal that the Committee on World Food Security, CFS, should play a part in monitoring SDG subsidiary goals in the area of sustainable agriculture, food security and improved nutrition.

Further Information

Last modification 15.03.2017

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG

International Affairs and Food Security

Schwarzenburgstrasse 165

3003 Bern

P
+41 58 461 88 66

Laura Sommer

Print contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/international/nachhaltigkeit/2030-agenda-fuer-nachhaltige-entwicklung/monitoring-und-review.html

Monitoring und Review (High Level Political Forum)

Ein partizipativer und effizienter Monitoring- und Überprüfungsmechanismus der Agenda 2030 ist für den Erfolg der SDGs unabdingbar.

Damit die Fortschritte in der Umsetzung der SDGs gemessen werden können, braucht es einen effzienten Monitoring- und Überprüfungsmechanismus. Dieser soll in erster Linie die Beiträge der einzelnen Länder umfassen, aber auch jene von weiteren relevanten Akteuren wie internationale Organisationen, NGOs und dem Privatsektor berücksichtigen.

Für die Beiträge der einzelnen Staaten zu Monitoring und Berichterstattung der Agenda 2030 sind folgende Rahmenbedingungen massgeblich:

  • Alle Staaten sollen so früh wie möglich ganzheitliche nationale Strategien zur Umsetzung der Agenda 2030 ausarbeiten;
  • Das High Level Political Forum on Sustainable Development (HLPF) fungiert als zentrales Gremium für den globalen Monitoring- und Überprüfungsmechanismus. Dieser Mechanismus wird in einem 4-Jahres-Zyklus geführt. Dabei trifft sich das HLPF jährlich unter dem UNO  Wirtschafts- und Sozialrat (ECOSOC) und alle vier Jahre unter der UNO-Generalversammlung als Treffen auf Ebene von Staats- und Regierungschefs.
  • Bis 2030 soll jedes Land regelmässig Bericht erstatten. Der erste Zyklus wird 2019 mit dem nächsten UNO-Gipfeltreffen enden. Im Zeitrahmen dieses ersten 4-Jahres-Zyklus sind die Mitgliedstaaten aufgefordert, die Umsetzung der Agenda 2030 auf nationaler Ebene und deren Integration in nationalen Strategien zu klären und dazu an die UNO Bericht zu erstatten.
     

Auf nationaler Ebene ist die interdepartmentale „Arbeitsgruppe Agenda 2030 national“ (AA2030) vom Bundesrat mit der Aufgabe betraut worden, einen ersten Schweizer Länderbericht als Input für das HLPF 2018 zu erarbeiten. Das BLW ist ein aktives Mitglied der AA2030, welche gemeinsam von DEZA und ARE geleitet wird.

Neben der globalen Ebene werden auch regionale Gremien sowie relevante bestehende zwischenstaatliche Foren zum Monitoring- und Überprüfungsmechanismus der Agenda 2030 beitragen. Beispielsweise hat sich die Schweiz dafür eingesetzt, dass das Welternährungskomitee (Committee on World Food Security, CFS) eine Rolle im Monitoring von SDG-Unterzielen im Bereich Nachhaltige Landwirtschaft, Ernährungssicherheit und –qualität spielt.

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 15.03.2017

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft BLW

Fachbereich Internationales, Nachhaltige Entwicklung, Ernährungssysteme

Mattenhofstrasse 5

3003 Bern

Tel.
+41 58 461 88 66

Laura Sommer

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/de/home/international/nachhaltigkeit/2030-agenda-fuer-nachhaltige-entwicklung/monitoring-und-review.html