10YFP Sustainable Food Systems Programme

Switzerland, together with South Africa, WWF International and the Netherlands Development NGO Hivos, is leading the Sustainable Food Systems Programme of the 10YFP.

In 2012 a global 10-Year Framework of Programmes on Sustainable Consumption and Production (10YFP for short) was adopted in the belief that non-sustainable consumption and production are the main causes of the continued deterioration in the environment worldwide.

The Sustainable Food Systems Programme was developed from 2011 by a joint FAO and UNEP process, which Switzerland has accompanied and actively supported from the outset. Based on this preliminary work, it was finally possible to launch a Sustainable Food Systems Programme under the 10YFP in October 2015.

The aim of the Programme is to promote the shift to sustainable consumption and production patterns all along the food value chain. This is to be done by a systematic approach which allows the actors along the whole food chain to be involved. The Programme deliberately addresses industrialised and developing countries, taking into consideration specific national and regional needs in its implementation.

The activities of the Programme should help with raising public awareness, access to knowledge and information, and strengthening partnerships. Concrete projects could deal with promotion of sustainable and resource-saving diets, improvement of consumer information and reduction of food waste.

In October 2015 Switzerland, together with South Africa, Hivos and WWF International, was selected to co-lead the 10YFP Sustainable Food Systems Programme. The Programme has a steering committee („Multi-stakeholder Advisory Committee“, MAC for short), which consists of various stakeholder groups from 23 countries and institutions. Moreover, it has already been possible to involve over 60 organisations as implementation partners, and others will follow in the coming months.

The Sustainable Food Systems Programme makes a direct contribution to implementing the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). These include in particular SDG2 to end hunger and promote sustainable agriculture and SDG 12 to promote sustainable consumption and production patterns, as well as a number of other SDGs which are connected with agriculture and the food sector.

Further Information

Last modification 19.07.2017

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG

International Affairs and Food Security

Schwarzenburgstrasse 165

3003 Bern

p
+41 58 463 44 36

Patrick Mink

Print contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/international/nachhaltigkeit/nachhaltige-ernaehrungssysteme/10yfp-sustainable-food-systems-programme.html

10YFP Sustainable Food Systems Programme

Die Schweiz leitet zusammen mit Südafrika, WWF International und der niederländischen NGO Hivos das Programm für nachhaltige Ernährungssysteme des 10YFP.

Im Jahr 2012 wurde ein globaler 10-Jahresrahmen für Programme zur Förderung nachhaltiger Konsum- und Produktionsmuster (engl. 10-Year Framework of Programmes on Sustainable Consumption and Production, kurz 10YFP) verabschiedet. Dies in der Überzeugung, dass nicht-nachhaltiger Konsum und Produktion die Hauptursache der
anhaltenden Verschlechterung des weltweiten Umweltzustands darstellen.

Das Programm für Nachhaltige Ernährungssysteme wurde ab dem Jahr 2011 in einem gemeinsamen Prozess von FAO und UNEP entwickelt, welchen die Schweiz von Anfang an begleitet und aktiv unterstützt hat. Basierend auf diesen Vorarbeiten konnte im Oktober 2015 schliesslich ein Programm zu nachhaltigen Ernährungssystemen unter dem 10YFP lanciert werden.

Das Programm hat zum Ziel, die Verschiebung zu nachhaltigen Konsum- und Produktionsmustern entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette zu fördern. Dazu soll es nach einem systemischen Ansatz geführt werden, welcher erlaubt die Akteure entlang der gesamten Nahrungsmittelkette mit einzubeziehen. Das Programm spricht dabei bewusst Industrie- und Entwicklungsländer an, wobei die Umsetzung spezifische nationale und regionale Bedürfnisse berücksichtigen
soll.

Die Aktivitäten des Programms sollen sowohl der Sensibilisierung der Öffentlichkeit, dem Zugang zu Wissen und Information, sowie der Stärkung von Partnerschaften dienen. Konkrete Projekte könnten sich unter anderem mit der Förderung nachhaltiger und ressourcenschonender Ernährung, der Verbesserung der Konsumenteninformation sowie der Reduktion von Food Waste beschäftigen.

Die Schweiz wurde im Oktober 2015 zusammen mit Südafrika, Hivos und WWF International in die Co-Leitung des 10YFP Sustainable Food Systems Programme gewählt. Das Programm hat einen Steuerungsauschuss („Multistakeholder Advisory Committee“, kurz MAC), der aus 23 Ländern und Institutionen verschiedener Stakeholder-Gruppen besteht. Ausserdem konnten bereits über 60 Organisationen als Implementierungspartner aufgenommen werden, und weitere werden in den nächsten Monaten folgen.

Das Sustainable Food Systems Programme leistet einen direkten Beitrag zur Umsetzung der UNO-Ziele für Nachhaltige Entwicklung (SDGs). Dazu gehören insbesondere SDG2 zur Hungerbekämpfung und Förderung nachhaltiger Landwirtschaft und SDG 12 zur Förderung nachhaltiger Konsum- und Produktionsmuster, aber auch eine Reihe weiterer SDGs die im Zusammenhang mit der Land- und Ernährungswirtschaft stehen.

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 19.07.2017

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft BLW Fachbereich Internationales, Nachhaltige Entwicklung, Ernährungssysteme
Mattenhofstrasse 5
3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 463 44 36

Patrick Mink

Tel.
+41 58 462 25 21

Dominique Faes

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/de/home/international/nachhaltigkeit/nachhaltige-ernaehrungssysteme/10yfp-sustainable-food-systems-programme.html