CFS Principles for Responsible Investment in Agriculture and Food Systems (CFS-RAI)

Responsible investment in agriculture and food systems is essential to improve food security and nutrition.

Today almost one in eight people still suffer from hunger or malnutrition. The majority of these 800 million people live in rural areas. In order to make a definitive improvement to food security, there must be much greater investment in agriculture and food systems. However, not all investments contribute equally to improving the living conditions of the poorest populations, strengthening agricultural systems and protecting natural resources. There must be responsible investment in order to meet the challenges posed by population growth, changing consumer behaviour and climate change, and to successfully overcome hunger and malnutrition.

In the Committee on World Food Security (CFS), Switzerland led negotiations to draw up principles for responsible investments in agriculture and food systems (Responsible Agricultural Investments, RAI), which were adopted by the CFS at its 41st session in October 2014.

The Principles grew out of a collaborative process in which all relevant actors (governments, civil society, the private sector, international organisations, private foundations and research institutions) were involved. That is why these Principles have wide support.
Their aim is to promote responsible investments which improve food security and contribute towards wider realization of the right to adequate food in the context of national food security. This voluntary instrument is aimed at all actors involved in investment in agricultural food systems and offers practical direction.

The 10 Principles at a glance

  1. Contribute to food security and nutrition.
  2. Contribute to sustainable and inclusive economic development and the eradication of poverty.
  3. Foster gender equality and women’s empowerment.
  4. Engage and empower youth.
  5. Respect tenure of land, fisheries and forests, and access to water.
  6. Conserve and sustainably manage natural resources, increase resilience and reduce disaster risks.
  7. Respect cultural heritage and traditional knowledge, and support diversity and innovation.
  8. Promote safe and healthy agriculture and food systems.
  9. Incorporate inclusive and transparent governance structures, processes, and grievance mechanisms.
  10. Assess and address impacts and promote accountability.

The CFS adopted the Voluntary Guidelines on Responsible Governance of Tenure of Land, Fisheries and Forests (VGGT) in 2012. These Guidelines supported fair governance of tenure of land, i.e. giving access to and control over land and other natural resources to the poorest rural populations in developing countries. The Principles complement the VGGT Guidelines.

Last modification 15.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG

International Affairs and Food Security

Schwarzenburgstrasse 165

3003 Bern

p
+41 58 48 36613

Madeleine Kaufmann

Print contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/international/nachhaltigkeit/responsible-agricultural-investments/cfs-rai-oecd-fao-guidelines.html

CFS Prinzipien für verantwortungsvolle Investitionen in Landwirtschaft und Ernährungssysteme (CFS-RAI)

Heute leidet immer noch fast jeder achte Mensch an Hunger oder Unterernährung. Die Mehrheit dieser 800 Millionen Menschen leben im ländlichen Raum. Damit die Ernährungssicherheit entscheidend verbessert werden kann, müssen die Investitionen in die Landwirtschaft und die Ernährungssysteme wesentlich gesteigert werden. Nicht alle Investitionen tragen dabei jedoch in gleichem Masse zur Verbesserung der Lebensbedingungen der ärmsten Bevölkerungsschicht, zur Stärkung der Agrarsysteme und zum Schutz der natürlichen Ressourcen bei. Um den Herausforderungen, die mit dem Bevölkerungswachstum, dem sich verändernden Konsumverhalten und dem Klimawandel einhergehen, entgegentreten und somit Hunger und Unterernährung erfolgreich bekämpfen zu können, muss verantwortungsvoll investiert werden.

Im Ausschuss für Welternährungssicherheit (Committee on World Food Security, CFS) leitete die Schweiz die Verhandlungen zur Ausarbeitung von Grundsätzen für verantwortungsvolle Investitionen in die Landwirtschaft und die Ernährungssysteme (Responsible Agricultural Investments, RAI), welche vom CFS im Oktober 2014 an seiner 41. Sitzung verabschiedet wurden.

Die Grundsätze entstanden in einem partizipativen Verfahren, in dessen Rahmen alle relevanten Akteure (Regierungen, Zivilgesellschaft, Privatwirtschaft, internationaler Organisationen, privater Stiftungen und Forschung) mitwirkten. Deswegen tragen diese Grundsätze eine breite Trägerschaft.
Diese Grundsätze sollen verantwortungsvolle Investitionen fördern, die die Ernährungssicherheit verbessern, und dazu beitragen, dass das Recht auf eine angemessene Ernährung im Kontext der nationalen Ernährungssicherheit vermehrt anerkannt wird. Dieses freiwillige Instrument richtet sich an alle Akteure, die Investitionen in landwirtschaftliche Ernährungssysteme tätigen und bieten Orientierungshilfen für die Praxis an.


Die 10 Grundsätze auf einen Blick

  1.  Zur Ernährungssicherheit und Ernährung beitragen.
  2. Zu einer nachhaltigen wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung ohne Ausgrenzung und zur Beseitigung der Armut beitragen.
  3. Die Gleichstellung von Mann und Frau wie auch die Selbstbestimmung der Frauen fördern.
  4. Die Jugend zur Mitarbeit anregen und ihre Autonomie stärken
  5. Die Boden- und Landnutzungsrechte, Fischgründe und Wälder sowie den Zugang zu Wasser verwalten.
  6. Die natürlichen Ressourcen erhalten und nachhaltig nutzen, die Resilienz verbessern und die Katastrophenrisiken mindern.
  7. Das Kulturerbe und traditionelle Wissen wahren und die Diversität und Innovation fördern.
  8. Sichere und gesunde Landwirtschafts- und Ernährungssysteme unterstützen.
  9. Für alle zugängliche und transparente Gouvernanzstrukturen und Verfahrens- und Einsprachemechanismen durchsetzen.
  10. Zwischenfälle bewerten und ihnen abhelfen und die Rechenschaftspflicht begünstigen.

Bereits 2012 hat das CFS die Freiwilligen Leitlinien für die verantwortungsvolle Landgouvernanz (Voluntary Guidelines on Responsible Governance of Tenure of Land, Fisheries and Forests, VGGT) verabschiedet. Diese Leitlinien setzten sich für eine gerechte Landgouvernanz ein, d.h. den ärmsten ländlichen Bevölkerungsgruppen in Entwicklungsländern den Zugang und Kontrolle zu Land und anderen natürlichen Ressourcen gewähren. Die RAI-Prinzipien sind komplementär zu den VGGT Leitlinien.
 

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 23.03.2017

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft BLW

Fachbereich Internationales, Nachhaltige Entwicklung, Ernährungssysteme

Mattenhofstrasse 5

3003 Bern

Tel.
+41 58 465 71 25

Michaël Würzner

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/de/home/international/nachhaltigkeit/responsible-agricultural-investments/cfs-rai-oecd-fao-guidelines.html