Pests and diseases

Plants form the basis of our food chain, for without the cultivation of crops there would be neither food for humans nor feed for animals. Plants are also a key element of the environment in which we live and lead our everyday lives. For this reason, outbreaks of plant diseases and pests can have devastating effects on the quality of our lives and on the economy. Particularly dangerous harmful organisms can threaten the livelihoods of agricultural and horticultural producers and adversely affect the quality and prices of our food and the condition and functions of our forests and parks.

Destructive plant pests and diseases can take a wide variety of forms, such as insects or bacteria, fungi or viruses. For example, the bacterial disease fireblight (Erwinia amylovora) has caused severe damage to fruit production in Switzerland over the past 30 years. In recent years, outbreaks of the Asian long-horned beetle (Anoplophora glabripennis), in particular, have posed a major threat to forests. In the coming years, the introduction and spread of new, particularly dangerous harmful organisms – e.g. the bacterium Xylella fastidiosa, the Japanese beetle (Popillia japonica) or the pine wood nematode (Bursaphelenchus xylophilus) – could have serious economic, social and environmental impacts. It is therefore essential to take effective measures as rapidly as possible to prevent harmful organisms from entering Switzerland, or to eradicate them as soon as they are detected in this country.

Certain harmful organisms which are not yet present in Switzerland or only occur locally are subject to a general notification obligation.

Quarantine pests

Quarantine pests are plant diseases or pests of potential economic significance which are not present or only occur locally in Switzerland. They are subject to a general notification and control obligation. Quarantine pests include, for example, the bacterium Xylella fastidiosa and the Asian long-horned beetle (Anoplophora glabripennis).

Protected zone quarantine pests

Protected zone quarantine pests are pathogens or pests which are widely distributed in Switzerland but do not yet occur in certain areas, in which they have a high potential to cause damage. They have quarantine pests status in the areas designated as protected zones for these organisms, but not in the rest of Switzerland. In Switzerland, there is currently only one protected zone for fireblight (Erwinia amylovora).

Regulated non-quarantine pests

Regulated non-quarantine pests (RNQPs) are pathogens or pests which are widely distributed in Switzerland and are transmitted mainly through specific host plants intended for planting. Owing to their distribution, they do not (or no longer) meet the criteria for a quarantine pest. However, as their presence on or in plants would have an unacceptable economic impact, phytosanitary measures must be adopted with regard to the propagating material. RNQPs cause diseases such as fireblight in pomaceous fruit, plum pox (Sharka) in stone fruit, red band needle blight in pine, or apple proliferation.

Last modification 24.02.2020

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG Swiss Federal Plant Protection Service SPPS
Schwarzenburgstrasse 165
3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 462 25 50
Fax
+41 58 462 26 34

phyto@blw.admin.ch

Print contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/nachhaltige-produktion/Pflanzengesundheit/schaedlingeundkrankheiten.html

Schädlinge und Krankheiten

Pflanzen bilden die Grundlage unserer Nahrungskette, denn ohne den Anbau von Pflanzen gäbe es weder Nahrung für uns Menschen noch Futter für Tiere. Pflanzen sind zudem ein zentraler Bestandteil der Umwelt, in der wir leben, und umgeben uns in unserem Alltag. Deshalb können Ausbrüche von Pflanzenkrankheiten und -schädlingen katastrophale Auswirkungen auf unsere Lebensqualität und die Wirtschaft haben. Besonders gefährliche Schadorganismen können die Lebensgrundlage von in der Landwirtschaft und gartenbaulichen Produktion tätigen Betrieben bedrohen und wirken sich negativ auf die Qualität und Preise unserer Nahrungsmittel sowie auf den Zustand und die Funktion unserer Wälder und Parks aus.

Zerstörerische Schadorganismen von Pflanzen können in verschiedensten Formen wie beispielsweise Bakterien, Pilze, Viren oder als Insekten auftreten. Zum Beispiel hat der Feuerbrand (Erwinia amylovora) dem Obstbau in der Schweiz in den letzten 30 Jahren grossen Schaden zugefügt. Für den Wald stellten in den vergangenen Jahren insbesondere Ausbrüche des Asiatischen Laubholzbockkäfers (Anoplophora glabripennis) eine grosse Gefahr dar. In den kommenden Jahren könnte die Einschleppung und Verbreitung von neuen, besonders gefährlichen Schadorganismen – wie beispielsweise des Bakteriums Xylella fastidiosa, des Japankäfers (Popillia japonica) oder des Kiefernholznematoden (Bursaphelenchus xylophilus) – zu schwerwiegenden wirtschaftlichen, sozialen und ökologischen Folgen führen. Deshalb ist es wichtig, möglichst schnell wirkungsvolle Massnahmen zu ergreifen, um zu verhindern, dass solche Schadorganismen in die Schweiz gelangen, oder sie sofort zu vernichten, sobald sie hierzulande entdeckt werden.

Für bestimmte Schadorganismen, die noch nicht in der Schweiz vorkommen oder nur lokal auftreten, besteht eine allgemeine Meldepflicht.

Quarantäneorganismen

Quarantäneorganismen sind Pflanzenkrankheiten oder -schädlinge von potenzieller wirtschaftlicher Bedeutung, die in der Schweiz nicht oder nur lokal auftreten. Für sie gilt eine allgemeine Melde- und Bekämpfungspflicht. Zu den Quarantäneorganismen gehören zum Beispiel das Bakterium Xylella fastidiosa und der Asiatische Laubholzbockkäfer.

Schutzgebiet-Quarantäneorganismen

Schutzgebiet-Quarantäneorganismen sind Krankheitserreger oder Schädlinge, die in der Schweiz verbreitet sind, in bestimmten Gebieten jedoch noch nicht auftreten und dort ein hohes Schadpotenzial aufweisen. Sie besitzen nur in den für sie ausgeschiedenen Schutzgebieten den Status eines Quarantäneorganismus, nicht aber in der übrigen Schweiz. In der Schweiz gibt es gegenwärtig nur ein Schutzgebiet für den Feuerbrand (Erwinia amylovora).

Geregelte Nicht-Quarantäneorganismen

Geregelte Nicht-Quarantäneorganismen (GNQO) sind Krankheitserreger oder Schädlinge, die in der Schweiz weitverbreitet sind und hauptsächlich über spezifische, zum Anpflanzen bestimmte Wirtspflanzen verbreitet werden. Wegen ihrer Verbreitung erfüllen sie die Kriterien für einen Quarantäneorganismus nicht (mehr). Da ihr Auftreten auf oder im Pflanzgut jedoch nicht annehmbare wirtschaftliche Folgen hätte, müssen phytosanitäre Massnahmen bezüglich des Vermehrungsmaterials ergriffen werden. Zu den GNQO gehören beispielsweise der Feuerband beim Kernobst, das Sharka-Virus beim Steinobst, die Rotbandkrankheit der Föhre oder die Apfeltriebsucht.

Letzte Änderung 19.12.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft BLW Eidg. Pflanzenschutzdienst EPSD
Schwarzenburgstrasse 165
3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 462 25 50
Fax
+41 58 462 26 34

phyto@blw.admin.ch

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/de/home/nachhaltige-produktion/Pflanzengesundheit/schaedlingeundkrankheiten.html