Organic farming

Import of organic products

The legal basis for the import of organic products is the most recent version of the Swiss Organic Farming Ordinance, in particular Articles 22 to 24a and 26.

The Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research (EAER) Ordinance on Organic Farming (abbrev. EAER Ordinance on Organic Farming) specifies in more detail the requirements of the Organic Farming Ordinance.

The EAER recognizes the production rules and inspection systems that exist in a number of countries as being equivalent to those operating in Switzerland. These countries are listed in Annex 4 (list of countries) of the EAER Ordinance on Organic Farming.

The Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG recognizes certification bodies and inspection authorities of countries not included in the list of countries, if the certification bodies and inspection authorities can prove that the products in question meet the conditions laid down in Article 22 of the Organic Farming Ordinance. The certification bodies and inspection authorities are listed in Annex 4a of the EAER Ordinance on Organic Farming.

Equivalence Arrangements

The authorities of the European Union (EU), Canada, Japan and the United States of America (USA) have officially confirmed to the Federal Office for Agriculture (FOAG) that they recognise the Swiss Organic Farming Regulations as being equivalent to their own national regulations.

In return, Switzerland recognises the regulations governing organic farming, the processing and labelling of organic products and control systems of the aforementioned states as being equivalent to the Swiss Organic Farming Regulations.

This mutual recognition is the result of intensive bilateral negotiations. It simplifies and promotes trade in organic products.

Signing of the Equivalence Arrangement between Switzerland and the United States of America (USA) in July 2015

Additional Informations

Last modification 19.07.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for Agriculture (FOAG) Quality and Sales Promotion Unit
Schwarzenburgstrasse 165
3003 Bern
Switzerland
Tel
+41 58 462 25 11
Fax
+41 58 462 26 34

Special Service

Print contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/instrumente/kennzeichnung/biolandbau.html

Agriculture biologique

Importation de produits biologiques

L’ordonnance suisse sur l’agriculture biologique, notamment les art. 22 à 24a et 26, constitue la base légale pour les importations des produits biologiques.  

L’ordonnance du DEFR sur l’agriculture biologique concrétise les exigences fixées dans l’ordonnance sur l’agriculture biologique. Le DEFR reconnaît les normes de production et les systèmes de contrôle qui existent dans un certain nombre de pays comme équivalents. Ces pays sont mentionnés dans l’annexe 4 (Liste de pays).

L’Office fédéral de l’agriculture (OFAG) reconnaît les organismes de certification et les autorités de contrôle de pays ne figurant pas dans la Liste des pays s’ils sont en mesure de prouver que les produits satisfont aux normes de production et aux systèmes de contrôle fixés à l’art. 22 de l’ordonnance sur l’agriculture biologique. Ces organismes sont mentionnés dans l'annexe 4a de l'ordonnace du DEFR sur l'agriculture biologique.

Exportation de produits biologiques

Les exigences concernant l'exportation de produits biologiques sont fixées par les Autorités compétentes du pays de destination. Aucun document supplémentaire n'est nécessaire pour l'exportation de produits biologiques dans l'UE. Dans des rares cas, certains Etats tiers exigent un certificat de contrôle. Celui-ci est délivré par un organisme de certification reconnu par le pays de destination
 

Conventions en matière d’équivalence

Les autorités de l'Union européenne (UE), du Canada, du Japon et des Etats-Unis d'Amérique (USA) ont confirmé officiellement à l'Office fédéral de l'agriculture (OFAG) qu'elles reconnaissaient les prescriptions bio suisses comme équivalentes à leurs prescriptions nationales respectives.

En contrepartie, la Suisse reconnait les règlementations sur l'agriculture biologique, la transformation et l'étiquetage de produits bio ainsi que les systèmes de contrôle des pays cités comme équivalents aux prescriptions bio suisses.

Cette reconnaissance mutuelle est le résultat de négociations bilatérales intensives. Elle facilite et encourage le commerce de produits biologiques.

Signature de l’accord sur l’équivalence Suisse - États-Unis d'Amérique (USA) en mois de Juillet 2015

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 22.01.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de l'agriculture OFAG Secteur Promotion de la qualité et des ventes
Mattenhofstrasse 5
3003 Berne
Tél
+41 58 462 25 11
Fax
+41 58 462 26 34

E-Mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/fr/home/instrumente/kennzeichnung/biolandbau.html