FHAL & GesA

Negotiations on increased market access for the entire agrifood value chain as well as on increased cooperation in the areas of food safety, product safety and public health between Switzerland and the EU have been going on since November 2008.

At first the negotiations progressed well. Three comprehensive rounds of negotiation were completed and on agricultural market access for example some important common denominators were found. The negotiations have come to a standstill since mid-2010 due to open institutional questions and domestic political resistance.

A free trade agreement between Switzerland and the EU for agricultural and food products (FHAL) would lead to increased market access for such products for both parties. An agreement would lower tariffs as well as reduce non-tariff barriers to trade, such as differences in regulations and import requirements. Apart from agricultural raw materials (e.g. milk, animals for slaughter) free trade should also cover the pre- and post-agricultural stages in the production chain, in other words, both means of production such as seeds or machinery as well as processed consumer products such as cheese or yoghurt.

A free-trade agreement with the EU would be a logical continuation of existing agricultural reforms with the aim of making Swiss agriculture more competitive at an international level. Opening up towards EU markets would result in lower production costs for Swiss farmers and the processing industry and at the same time improve access to EU markets. Swiss consumers would benefit from lower food prices. A positive effect on the domestic economy's growth is expected, with an estimated long-term rise in GDP of 0.5% or CHF 2 billion per year.

An opening of agricultural markets towards the EU would confront the Swiss agricultural sector with substantial challenges. In order to allow producers to take advantage of new market opportunities to adapt to the new market situation, a free trade agreement would be implemented in stages and accompanied by supportive measures.

Coordination of the negotiations
Directorate for European Affairs DEA

Agriculture


Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG 

Food safety


Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office FSVO

Product safety


State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO (in French)

Public health


Federal Office of Public Health FOPH

Further information

Last modification 20.12.2016

Top of page

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/international/institutionen/europaeische-union-eu/fhal-gesa.html

FHAL & GesA

Des négociations sont en cours depuis novembre 2008 entre la Suisse et l'UE au sujet d'une ouverture des marchés de l'ensemble de la chaîne de production alimentaire et du renforcement de la collaboration dans les domaines de la sécurité des denrées alimentaires et des produits ainsi que de la santé publique.

Les négociations ont bien progressé durant la première phase. Ainsi, trois cycles complets de négociations ont été menés jusqu'ici, et des premiers terrains d'entente importants ont notamment pu être trouvés au sein de l'équipe de négociation «Accès au marché dans le domaine agricole». Les négociations sont au point mort depuis le second semestre 2010 en raison notamment de questions d'ordre institutionnel qui n'ont pu être réglées et de résistances politiques.

Un accord de libre-échange entre la Suisse et l'UE dans le secteur agroalimentaire (ALEA) devrait contribuer à ouvrir les marchés aux produits agricoles et aux denrées alimentaires. Il devrait permettre d'éliminer les entraves au commerce tant tarifaires (droits de douane et contingents) que non tarifaires (prescriptions diverses en matière de production et d'homologation). Le libre-échange ne concernerait pas seulement les matières premières issues de l'agriculture (comme le lait ou les animaux de boucherie), mais également les secteurs situés en amont et en aval de la filière. En d'autres termes, il toucherait aussi bien les produits nécessaires à la production agricole (semences, machines, etc.) que les produits issus de l'industrie de transformation (fromages, yogourts, etc.).

L'ALEA s'inscrirait ainsi de manière cohérente dans les réformes de la politique agricole menées jusqu'ici et serait destiné à améliorer la compétitivité de l'agriculture suisse sur le plan international. Une ouverture face à l'UE se traduirait par une réduction des coûts de production pour les agriculteurs suisses et pour l'industrie helvétique de transformation, facilitant ainsi l'accès au marché de l'UE. Pour le consommateur suisse, cela entraînerait une baisse des prix des denrées alimentaires. Les retombées sur l'économie seraient positives et se traduiraient par une augmentation durable du PIB de l'ordre de 0,5 %, soit 2 milliards de francs.

L'ouverture des marchés représente toutefois un défi de taille pour l'agriculture. Afin de permettre aux exploitations de s'orienter vers les nouveaux marchés et de les aider à se restructurer, l'ALEA ne pourrait être introduit que de manière progressive et devrait être complété par des mesures d'accompagnement.

Coordination des négociations

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 21.09.2016

Début de la page

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/fr/home/international/institutionen/europaeische-union-eu/fhal-gesa.html