Protocol No. 2

Foto Luxenburgerli Protokoll Nr. 2

Protocol No 2 of the 1972 free trade agreement regulates the trade of processed agricultural products between Switzerland and the EU. Products are divided into those which are subject to price compensating measures (Table 1; e.g. milk chocolate, biscuits, baby food) and those for which free trade applies (Table 2; e.g. coffee, jam, water, beer). When the legislation commonly known as the “chocolate law” was abolished on 1 January 2019, export subsidies ended for agricultural raw materials used in processed agricultural products.

The products listed in Table 1 are subject to price compensation measures when traded between Switzerland and the EU. These measures offset the difference in product costs arising due to the price of raw materials. Reference prices and price differences between the EU and Switzerland are determined for certain raw materials (e.g. butter, milk powder, wheat flour) in order to calculate each product’s corresponding customs duties and export subsidies. These reference prices and price differences are listed in Protocol No 2 and are generally updated every year.

As commodity prices in Switzerland are higher than in the EU, this agreement gives Switzerland the right to charge customs duties upon importation of processed agricultural products. The EU, on the other hand, abstains from both export subsidies and customs duties.

This system of price adjustment takes into account the regulations of Protocol No 2 and therefore differentiates between trade with the EU and trade with non-EU countries. The homepage of the Federal Office for Customs and Border Security provides further information. 

 

Last modification 14.04.2022

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG
Trade Relations unit


Schwarzenburgstrasse 165

3003 Bern
Tel:
+41 58 467 68 50

Kilian Widmer

Print contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/international/institutionen/europaeische-union-eu/protokoll-nr-2.html

Protocole n° 2

Foto Luxenburgerli Protokoll Nr. 2

Le Protocole no 2 de l’accord de libre-échange de 1972 règle le commerce de produits agricoles transformés entre la Suisse et l’UE. À cet égard, une distinction est établie entre les produits qui font l’objet de mesures de compensation des prix (tableau 1 : chocolat au lait, biscuits, préparations pour l’alimentation des enfants, etc.) et ceux qui sont soumis au régime de libre-échange (tableau 2 : café, confiture, eau, bière, etc.). Les contributions versées pour l’exportation de certaines matières premières agricoles incorporées aux produits agricoles transformés (appelés « loi chocolatière ») ont été levées le 1er janvier 2019.

Pour les produits du tableau 1 précité, il est prévu de compenser les différences de coûts dues au prix des matières premières dans les échanges entre l’UE et la Suisse. Pour les matières premières importantes (beurre, lait en poudre, farine de blé, etc.), il est procédé au relevé des prix de référence et des différences de prix entre l’UE et la Suisse qui servent à calculer et à fixer les taxes douanières et les contributions à l’exportation pour chaque produit. Les prix de référence et les différences de prix sont inscrits dans le Protocole no 2 et, en règle générale, actualisés chaque année.

Comme les prix des matières premières agricoles sont plus élevés en Suisse que dans l’UE, la Suisse a, sur la base de cet accord, le droit de prélever des taxes douanières lors de l’importation de produits agricoles transformés. L’UE renonce, quant à elle, aux subventions à l’exportation et au prélèvement de taxes douanières.

Cet accord tient compte des réglementations du Protocole no 2 et établit par conséquent une distinction entre le commerce avec l’UE et celui avec les pays hors UE. Vous trouverez de plus amples informations sur le site de l'Office fédéral de la douane et de la sécurité des frontières.

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 14.04.2022

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de l'agriculture OFAG
Section relations commerciales


Schwarzenburgstrasse 165

3003 Berne
Tél.
+41 58 467 68 50

Kilian Widmer

Imprimer contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/fr/home/international/institutionen/europaeische-union-eu/protokoll-nr-2.html