FAO Conference and Council

The Governing Bodies of the FAO (Conference, Council, Regional Conferences, Committee on World Food Security etc.) are built on the following structure:

Structure of the Governing Bodies

Conference: the Conference is the sovereign Governing Body of the Organization. It comprises representatives of all Member Nations and Associate Members. The Conference determines the overall policy and budget of the Organization.

The Conference can make recommendations to Member Nations and Associate Members concerning matters relating to food and agriculture.

Council: within the limits of the powers delegated to it by the Conference, the Council acts as the latter’s executive organ between sessions. In particular, it deals with the world food and agriculture situation and related matters, current and prospective activities of the Organization, including its Programme of Work and Budget, administration and financial management of the Organization and constitutional matters. The Council may establish Commissions, Committees and Working Parties.

Regional Conferences: there are Regional Conferences for Africa, Asia and the Pacific, Latin America and the Caribbean, Europe and the Near East. They will normally meet once every biennium in non-Conference years.

The Committee on World Food Security, CFS, is the most important international and intergovernmental platform. It is open to all and enables co-operation between all stakeholders to ensure the food security of all people. The CFS gives an account of its activities to the UN General Assembly – via the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) – and to the FAO Conference.

Further Information

Last modification 15.03.2017

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG

International Affairs and Food Security

Schwarzenburgstrasse 165

3003 Bern

Switzerland

P
+41 58 48 36613

Madeleine Kaufmann

Print contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/international/institutionen/fao-und-andere-un-organisationen/fao-konferenz-und-rat.html

FAO conférence et conseil

Les organes de la FAO

Les organes directeurs de la FAO (Conférence, Conseil, Conférences régionales, Comité de la sécurité alimentaire mondiales, etc.) sont organisés selon le schéma ci-dessous :

La Conférence: La Conférence est l'organe directeur souverain de l'Organisation. Elle se compose des représentants de tous les États Membres et membres associés. La Conférence fixe la politique générale et approuve le budget de l'Organisation;

La Conférence peut faire des recommandations aux États Membres et aux membres associés sur les
questions relatives à l’alimentation et à l’agriculture.

Le Conseil: Dans les limites des pouvoirs qui lui sont délégués par la Conférence, le Conseil agit en qualité d'organe exécutif de cette dernière dans l'intervalle de ses sessions. En particulier, il s'occupe de questions ayant trait à la situation mondiale de l'alimentation et de l'agriculture et à des problèmes connexes, des activités courantes et futures de l'Organisation, y compris son Programme de travail et budget, de l'administration et de la gestion financière de l'Organisation et de question d'ordre constitutionnel. Le Conseil peut créer des commissions, comités et groupes de travail.

Les Conférences régionales: Des conférences régionales sont organisées pour l’Afrique, l’Asie et le Pacifique, l’Amérique latine et les Caraïbes, l’Europe et le Proche-Orient. Elles se tiennent normalement une fois par exercice biennal les années où la Conférence ne siège pas.

Le Comité de la sécurité alimentaire mondiale (CSA) est la principale plateforme internationale et intergouvernementale, ouverte à tous, qui permet aux différentes parties prenantes de travailler ensemble pour assurer à chacun la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition. Le Comité rend compte de ses activités à l'Assemblée générale des Nations Unies, par l’intermédiaire du Conseil économique et social de l'Organisation des Nations Unies (ECOSOC), et à la Conférence de la FAO.

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 15.03.2017

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de l'agriculture OFAG

Secteur Affaires internationales et sécurité alimentaire

Schwarzenburgstrasse 165

3003 Berne

Tél.
+41 58 48 36613

Madeleine Kaufmann

Imprimer contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/fr/home/international/institutionen/fao-und-andere-un-organisationen/fao-konferenz-und-rat.html