FAO

The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations plays a key role in worldwide co-ordination, technical support and networking of research in the areas of food security, basic living conditions of rural communities and sustainable use and management of natural resources.

Objectives of the FAO
The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, FAO, is a specialized UN agency with headquarters in Rome, which was founded in 1945. The FAO has 194 Member Nations, two associate members and one member organisation – the European Union. Since 1 January 2012, the FAO has been headed by the Brazilian José Graziano da Silva.
The core objectives of the FAO include efforts to give every individual access to food security. The FAO defines the concept of food security as follows in its global strategic framework for food security: «Food security is the condition in which all people, at all times, have physical, social and economic access to sufficient safe and nutritious food that meets their dietary needs and food preferences for an active and healthy life.» The four pillars of food security are availability, access, use and stability. The dietary component is a strong element of the concept of food security.
In order to achieve this goal worldwide, a co-ordinated approach is essential. This is where the FAO plays a central role. The FAO pursues the following strategic objectives to achieve this aim:

  • help eliminate hunger, food insecurity and malnutrition;
  • make agriculture, forestry and fisheries more productive and sustainable;
  • reduce rural poverty;
  • enable inclusive and efficient agricultural and food systems;
  • increase the resilience of livelihoods to threats and crises.

    The FAO’s main tool in reaching these objectives is technical support. The organisation is also active as a research network in the area of agricultural and food sciences and advises states on matters of agricultural and development policy. Last but not least, it also acts as a platform for international exchange on agricultural and food sector themes.
    Switzerland has been a member of the FAO since 1946. The government office responsible for the FAO in Switzerland is the FOAG (Federal Office for Agriculture). Switzerland sits on several FAO committees, namely the Committee on World Food Security, the Committee on Agriculture, the Committee on Forestry, the Committee on Commodity Problems and the Commission on Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture.
    The programme of work of the FAO is funded through obligatory and voluntary contributions. Its budget for the period 2016–2017 totals 2.6 billion US dollars. 39 per cent of this is financed by contributions which are raised in the Member Nations and 61 per cent by voluntary contributions from Member Nations and other partners.

Further Information

Last modification 11.02.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG

International Affairs and Food Security

Schwarzenburgstrasse 165

3003 Bern

Switzerland

P
+41 58 48 36613

Madeleine Kaufmann

Print contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/international/institutionen/fao-und-andere-un-organisationen/fao.html

FAO

La FAO joue un rôle central de coordination internationale, d'assistance technique et de réseau de recherche en matière de sécurité alimentaire et de nutrition, de moyens d'existence des populations rurales et de gestion et d'utilisation durables des ressources naturelles.

L'Organisation des Nations unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture (connue sous le sigle FAO pour Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations) est une organisation spécialisée du Système des Nations Unies, créée en 1945. Son siège se trouve à Rome. La FAO compte 194 Etats membres, deux membres associés et une organisation membre, l'Union européenne. Elle est dirigée depuis le 1er janvier 2012 par M. Graziano da Silva (Brésil).

Au cœur des efforts de la FAO se trouve la volonté de permettre à toutes et tous d'accéder à la Sécurité alimentaire. Le concept de Sécurité alimentaire est défini par la FAO dans son cadre stratégique mondial pour la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition comme suit: « La sécurité alimentaire est assurée lorsque tous les êtres humains ont, à tout moment, la possibilité physique, sociale et économique de se procurer une nourriture suffisante, salubre et nutritive leur permettant de satisfaire leurs besoins et préférences alimentaires pour mener une vie saine et active. » Les quatre piliers de la sécurité alimentaire sont la disponibilité, l’accès, l’utilisation et la stabilité. La dimension nutritionnelle fait partie intégrante du concept de sécurité alimentaire

Pour atteindre ce but à un niveau global, une action concertée est indispensable et la FAO joue à ce titre un rôle central de coordination internationale. Pour ce faire, la FAO s’est fixé les objectifs stratégiques suivants:

  • contribuer à éradiquer la faim, l'insécurité alimentaire et la malnutrition;
  • rendre l'agriculture, la foresterie et la pêche plus productives et plus durables ;
  • réduire la pauvreté rurale ;
  • oeuvrer à des systèmes agricoles et alimentaires inclusifs et efficaces ;
  • améliorer la résilience des moyens d'existence face à des menaces ou en situation de crise.

L'outil le plus important utilisé par la FAO pour atteindre ces objectifs est l'assistance technique. Cette organisation est également active en tant que réseau de recherche dans le domaine de la science agronomique et de l'alimentation et elle conseille les Etats en matière de politique agricole et de politique de développement. Enfin, elle  joue en même temps le rôle de plateforme d'échange internationale sur les sujets concernant l'agriculture et l'alimentation.

La Suisse est membre de la FAO depuis 1946. L’Office compétent en Suisse pour la FAO est l’OFAG. La Suisse est membre de plusieurs comités de la FAO : Comité de la sécurité alimentaire mondiale, Comité de l'agriculture, Comité des forêts, Comité des produits (Committee on Commodity Problems) et Commission des ressources génétiques pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture. 

Le programme de travail de la FAO est financé par des contributions obligatoires et volontaires. Son budget pour 2016-17 s'élève à 2,6 milliards d'USD. Il est financé à 39 pour cent par des contributions mises en recouvrement auprès des États membres et à 61 pour cent par des contributions volontaires d'Etats membres et d'autres partenaires.

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 11.02.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de l'agriculture OFAG

Secteur Affaires internationales et sécurité alimentaire

Schwarzenburgstrasse 165

3003 Berne

Tél.
+41 58 48 36613

Madeleine Kaufmann

Imprimer contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/fr/home/international/institutionen/fao-und-andere-un-organisationen/fao.html