Mountain Partnership

Mountain regions cover 66% of Switzerland and 24% of the world’s land mass. They are home to 13% of the world’s population, the majority of whom live in poverty and whose food security is under threat. International governance of mountain regions is relevant because mountain regions often cross national borders and because their ecosystem services also benefit distant areas.

The Mountain Partnership is an alliance of states, international organisations and NGOs, which work together to achieve sustainable conservation of mountainous regions and to improve living conditions for mountain peoples. The Swiss Federal Office for Agriculture (FOAG) supports the Mountain Partnership secretariat, which is based at the FAO in Rome. One of the secretariat’s main tasks is to assist the various members in implementing joint initiatives in the area of sustainable mountain development and to foster their co-operation.

The Mountain Partnership serves as a platform for members, gathering, generating and sharing knowledge and relevant information to increase awareness of mountain themes. It also promotes relations and co-operation between different actors by acting as intermediary and lays down conditions for collaboration and resource mobilisation at national, regional and global level.

The Mountain Partnership aims to gather practical information gained through implementation of the Mountain Agenda and to draw up recommendations for concrete political measures to strengthen mountain regions. Furthermore, the Mountain Partnership also aims to raise global awareness and deepen the commitment of the international community to promote sustainable mountain development.  

Further Information

Last modification 15.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG

International Affairs and Food Security

Schwarzenburgstrasse 165

3003 Bern

p.
+41 58 46 97636

Michaël Sapin

Print contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/international/institutionen/multistakeholder-partnerschaften/cbd.html

Mountain Partnership

L’organisation Mountain Partnership s’engage en faveur de la protection durable des régions de montagne et de l’amélioration des conditions de vie des populations de montagne.

Les régions de montagne couvrent 66 % de la superficie de la Suisse et 24 % des surfaces terrestres mondiales. Elles abritent 13 % de la population mondiale, des personnes vivant en grande majorité dans la pauvreté et dont la sécurité alimentaire est menacée. Étant donné que les régions de montagne sont souvent à cheval sur plusieurs pays et que leurs services écosystémiques profitent aussi à des régions très éloignées, une gouvernance internationale est utile à tous égards.

Mountain Partnership réunit des États, des organisations internationales et des ONG s’engageant en faveur de la protection durable des régions de montagne et de l’amélioration des conditions de vie de ses populations. L’OFAG soutient le secrétariat de Mountain Partnership siégeant à la FAO à Rome. Le secrétariat a pour tâche principale de fournir une assistance à ses divers membres pour mettre en oeuvre les initiatives communes dans le domaine du développement durable des montagnes et d’encourager leur coopération.

Moutain Partnership sert de plateforme à ses membres, leur permettant de recueillir, générer et partager les connaissances et les informations utiles pour une meilleure prise de conscience des questions liées à la montagne. En outre, Mountain Partnership encourage les liens et la coopération entre divers acteurs en servant d’intermédiaire et fixe des conditions pour la collaboration et la mobilisation des ressources à l’échelle nationale aussi bien que régionale et globale.

Mountain Partnership vise à recueillir les connaissances pratiques issues de la mise en œuvre de son agenda et à élaborer des recommandations pour des mesures politiques concrètes de renforcement des régions de montagne. Enfin, Mountain Partnership entend sensibiliser l’opinion mondiale pour que la communauté internationale s’engage davantage en faveur d’un développement durable des régions de montagne.

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 15.08.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de l'agriculture OFAG

Secteur Affaires internationales et sécurité alimentaire

Schwarzenburgstrasse 165

3003 Berne

Tél.
+41 58 46 97636

Michaël Sapin

Imprimer contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/fr/home/international/institutionen/multistakeholder-partnerschaften/cbd.html