Global Agenda for Sustainable Livestock

The objective of this multi-stakeholder partnership (Global Agenda for Sustainable Livestock) is sustainable development of the livestock sector through efficient use of natural resources.

Livestock farming is of great importance for food security. Considerable global efforts are required in agricultural research and investment, together with firm governance, if the livestock sector worldwide is to keep up with the increased demand for food from livestock and the changing consumption needs of the population. At the same time, there is pressure on the sector to help combat poverty, to improve food security and to protect the environment and human health.

The Global Agenda for Sustainable Livestock (GASL) is an initiative which aims to achieve sustainable development of the livestock sector through efficient use of natural resources. The Global Agenda has 56 Members and comprises representatives from government, the private sector, science, non-governmental organisations, social movements and community organisations as well as international organisations. The Global Agenda provides a platform for bringing together different stakeholders from the livestock sector and for promoting political dialogue, exchange of knowledge and experience and joint action to achieve a sustainable livestock sector. The diversity of the membership, which is rooted regionally and locally, allows the Global Agenda to deal comprehensively with the multiple challenges facing sustainable development of the livestock sector.

The Global Agenda’s Programme of Work for 2016-2018 is based primarily on the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) relevant for the livestock sector and strives to make a contribution to achieving these goals. The Programme of Work consists of three main focuses:

  • Closing gaps in efficiency
  • Exploiting meadows and pasture land, and
  • Fully exploiting animal waste.  

Further Information

Last modification 15.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG

International Affairs and Food Security

Schwarzenburgstrasse 165

3003 Bern

P
+41 58 465 17 00

Alwin Kopše

Print contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/international/institutionen/multistakeholder-partnerschaften/global-agenda-for-sustainable-livestock.html

Programme mondial pour un élevage durable

Ce partenariat multipartite vise un développement durable et soutenable dans le secteur de l’élevage grâce à une utilisation efficiente des ressources naturelles.  

L’élevage joue un rôle primordial pour la sécurité alimentaire. La forte croissance de la demande mondiale pour des denrées alimentaires d’origine animale et la modification des habitudes de consommation exigent des efforts considérables à l’échelle mondiale en matière de recherche agronomique et d’investissements, ainsi que sur le plan de la gouvernance. Parallèlement, le secteur est aussi sollicité pour contribuer à la lutte contre la pauvreté, à l’amélioration de la sécurité alimentaire et à la protection de l’environnement et de la santé humaine.

Le programme mondial pour un élevage durable (Global Agenda for Sustainable Livestock, GASL) vise un développement durable du secteur de l’élevage grâce à une utilisation efficace des ressources naturelles. Comprenant 56 membres, cette initiative est composée de représentants de gouvernements, du secteur privé, des sciences, d’organisations non gouvernementales, de mouvements sociaux, d’organisations locales et d’organisations intergouvernementales. Ce programme mondial offre une plateforme permettant de réunir les différents acteurs du secteur de l’élevage et d’encourager le dialogue politique, l’échange de connaissances et d’expériences dans le but d’entreprendre des actions communes pour un secteur de l’élevage durable. La diversité des membres et leur ancrage régional et local permet de traiter les divers défis liés au développement durable du secteur de manière globale.

Le programme de travail pour 2016-2018 est essentiellement axé sur les objectifs de développement durable des Nations Unies (ODD) et entend contribuer à atteindre ces objectifs. Il tient en trois axes principaux :

  • combler les lacunes en matière d’efficience
  • revaloriser les prairies et les pâturages et, enfin,
  • valoriser les déchets animaux dans leur totalité.

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 15.08.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de l'agriculture OFAG

Secteur Affaires internationales et sécurité alimentaire

Schwarzenburgstrasse 165

3003 Berne

Tél.
+41 58 465 17 00

Alwin Kopše

Imprimer contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/fr/home/international/institutionen/multistakeholder-partnerschaften/global-agenda-for-sustainable-livestock.html