OECD - Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development

The mission of the OECD is to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world, including in agriculture and the food sector.

The OECD provides a forum in which governments can work together and where they can share experiences and seek solutions to common problems. This is also true of the agricultural sector. Based on experiences of food shortages and sanctions, increasing agricultural productivity formed a major topic which was discussed within the OECD at the beginning of the 1960s. Since then, other matters such as the sustainability of agricultural production have been integrated into the OECD’s agenda.

At a global level, topics such as sufficient food and food prices are still high on the agenda today. Key words in this context are rising world population, limited natural resources such as land and water, climate change and changing consumer behaviour based on increasing prosperity.

The OECD takes an active part in these discussions through its working methods which are based on co-operation, dialogue, consensus and assessment (Peer Review). Through its analyses it regularly contributes to the drafting of coherent policy recommendations for meeting a wide range of challenges. It supports its Member countries in their efforts to promote sustainable economic growth, to find solutions to common problems, to identify good practice and to improve harmonisation of national and international policies.

Switzerland is a founder member of the OECD and the SECO (Swiss Economic Cooperation and Development Division) has the main responsibility for the OECD portfolio.


FOAG actively participates in following committees:


Further Information

Last modification 03.12.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG

International Affairs and Food Security

Schwarzenburgstrasse 165

3003 Bern

T
+41 58 468 70 91

Kate Dassesse

Print contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/international/institutionen/oecd.html

OCDE - L'Organisation de Coopération et de Développement Économiques

L’objectif de l’OCDE est d’encourager une politique qui améliore la vie des personnes du point de vue économique et social à l’échelle mondiale, y compris dans l’agriculture et le secteur alimentaire.

L’OCDE offre un forum collaboratif aux gouvernements, afin qu’ils puissent échanger leurs expériences et trouver des solutions à leurs problèmes communs, également dans le domaine de l’agriculture. Au début des années 1960, en raison de la pénurie et du rationnement de denrées alimentaires dont on avait récemment fait l’expérience, l’augmentation de la productivité agricole était l’un des thèmes principaux à avoir été débattu au sein de l’OCDE. Entretemps, la question de la durabilité de la production agricole a elle aussi été intégrée à l’agenda de l’OCDE.

Les thèmes prioritaires de l’agenda à l’échelle mondiale concernent la disponibilité et le prix des denrées alimentaires. S’y rattachent également des questions clés telles que la croissance démographique, la limitation des ressources naturelles comme le sol et l’eau, les changements climatiques et la modification des habitudes de consommation due à l’élévation du niveau de vie.

L’OCDE prend activement part aux discussions en adoptant une manière de travailler axée sur la coopération, le dialogue, le consensus et l’expertise (révision par les pairs). Par ses analyses régulières, elle contribue à élaborer des recommandations politiques pour faire face aux divers défis. Elle soutient ses pays membres dans leurs activités visant à promouvoir une croissance économique durable, trouver des réponses aux problèmes communs, identifier les bonnes pratiques et mieux coordonner les politiques nationales et internationales.

La Suisse est membre fondateur de l’OCDE et le SECO est en charge du dossier de l’OCDE.


L’OFAG s’implique activement dans les comités de l’OCDE qui le concernent:


Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 15.08.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de l'agriculture OFAG

Secteur Affaires internationales et sécurité alimentaire

Schwarzenburgstrasse 165

3003 Berne

Tél.
+41 58 462 25 95

Michael Hartmann

Imprimer contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/fr/home/international/institutionen/oecd.html