Evaluation of agricultural policy developments

Every year the OECD describes and evaluates agricultural developments in its Member countries and other partner countries.

With this report agricultural policy development in member states get described and evaluated annually. One focus is on a clear and distinct analysis on the level and composition of public support in favor of the agricultural sector using indicators like the Producer Support Estimate (PSE). The annual Report is aimed at governments, but also the media, researchers, non-governmental organisations and other interested parties.

The countries analysed, which now number more than 50, for the most part pursue similar goals in their agricultural policy, e.g.

  • providing reliable access to safe, healthy and nutritious food
  • enabling producers to improve their living standards by their activities in line with market requirements
  • contributing to rural community well-being, in particular by providing a range of ecosystem services
  • increasing the resilience of farm households in the face of risks.
     

However, countries attach different weights to these goals and approach them differently, and this is reflected in differing policy mixes. Moreover, the most recent agreements and negotiations as part of the 2030 Agenda (incl. SDGs), the COP21 and the WTO Ministerial Conference in Nairobi build an important international framework for the various agricultural sectorial policies.

In its annual Agricultural Policy Monitoring and Evaluation Report, the OECD also compares levels of support to agriculture. The report focuses on the clearest possible analysis of support to agriculture in the countries covered using different indicators. For example, the Producer Support Estimate (PSE) is used for uniform and comparable information on the level and structure of support to agriculture.

The annual Report is aimed at governments, but also the media, researchers, non-governmental organisations and other interested parties.

In general the OECD makes the following recommendations:

  • national policies and measures need to be coherent
  • policy measures must be transparent, targeted, tailored, flexible, consistent and equitable against the background of scarce government resources
  • make innovation a priority to achieve sustainable productivity growth
     

According to the OECD Report 2016, Switzerland, along with Iceland, Japan, Korea and Norway, has one of the highest levels of farm support of the compared countries (measured as percentage PSE). Close to 60% of the gross receipts of Swiss farms come from government transfers either from consumers or from tax payers (OECD average 17%). However, there is a clear difference in the structure of farm support between the countries. In Switzerland around 50% of government transfers are considered to be most distorting support.

The agricultural policy reforms, which have been carried out in Switzerland since the 1990s, have considerably reduced market distortions. Price supporting measures have been replaced by direct payments which are independent of production and increasingly more target specific. However, the level of farm support in Switzerland remains high in comparison with other countries.

The OECD’s Producer Support Estimate (PSE) is a widely recognised and frequently used indicator for the international comparison of agricultural policies. There is a lack of alternative indicators and base data. Nevertheless, the following points should be remembered when interpreting this indicator:

  • The PSE is used to assess farm support in total (in CHF) and relative terms (as % of gross farm receipts). However, the PSE tells us nothing about the costs environment or spending power in the different countries.Therefore, nothing can be said about the extent to which agricultural income (revenue-costs) is supported by government intervention and how much remaining francs or dollars are worth for the farmer and his family in the relevant country.

  • The annual increases and decreases in calculated border protection are often not due to changes to the border protection regime (e.g. raising or lowering of customs duty). External factors (such as price development on international agricultural markets and/or price and currency fluctuations) have a much greater effect on the level of border protection in the short and medium term. So the calculated border protection for Switzerland since 2013 has risen substantially due mainly to the strength of the Swiss franc following decisions by the National Bank.

High spending power, willingness of consumers to pay (particularly for Swiss products) and high structural costs (e.g. wages) result in a higher price environment in Switzerland than in other countries and not just in the food sector. These structurally-based price differences are therefore only partly attributable to border protection, but in the PSE they influence the level of calculated border protection.

Further Information

Last modification 20.03.2017

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG

International Affairs and Food Security

Schwarzenburgstrasse 165

3003 Bern

T
+41 58 468 70 91

Kate Dassesse

Print contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/international/institutionen/oecd/monitoring-und-evaluation-agrarpolitik.html

Évaluation de l’évolution des politiques agricoles

L’OCDE présente et évalue chaque année les changements apportés par ses membres et les pays partenaires à leurs politiques agricoles respectives.

Le rapport annuel décrit et évalue les développements de la politique agricole dans les pays membres et d’autres pays partenaires. Un de ses éléments centraux est l’analyse claire et dénuée d’ambiguïté du niveau et de la composition du soutien agricole dans les divers pays au moyen d’indicateurs comme Producer Support Estimate (PSE). Ce rapport s’adresse avant tout aux gouvernements, mais aussi aux médias, aux chercheurs, aux ONG et aux autres personnes concernées.

La cinquantaine d’États dont la politique agricole a été analysée à ce jour par l’OCDE poursuivent pour la plupart des buts similaires :

  • garantir leur sécurité alimentaire et s’assurer que le pays puisse se procurer des denrées alimentaires saines et nutritives
  • permettre aux producteurs d’améliorer leur niveau de vie par leur activité tout en répondant aux besoins du marché
  • contribuer à offrir de bonnes conditions de vie aux populations rurales, en leur fournissant en particulier une série de prestations écosystémiques
  • améliorer l’aptitude des ménages paysans à faire face aux risques.
     

Ces pays classent les buts susmentionnés selon des priorités qui leur sont propres, et suivent par conséquent diverses approches pour les atteindre, concrétisées par différentes combinaisons de moyens politiques. Les politiques qu’ils mènent dans différents secteurs, notamment dans celui de l’agriculture, s’inscrivent par ailleurs dans un cadre international formé par les derniers accords passés et les négociations du Programme de développement durable à l’horizon 2030 (avec les objectifs qui s’y rapportent), de la COP 21 et de la Conférence ministérielle de l’OMC à Nairobi.

L’OCDE compare, dans une publication annuelle intitulée Politiques agricoles : suivi et évaluation, le niveau des aides publiques à l’agriculture. Ce document contient principalement une analyse claire et aussi précise que possible des aides à l’agriculture dans les pays membres de l’organisation, en s’appuyant sur divers indicateurs. Par exemple, l’estimation du soutien aux producteurs (ESP) fournit des informations homogènes et comparables sur le niveau et la structure des aides publiques à l’agriculture. Ce rapport annuel est destiné aux gouvernements, mais aussi aux médias, aux chercheurs, aux organisations non gouvernementales, et à toute personne que la question intéresse.

De façon générale, l’OCDE recommande aux pouvoirs publics de :

  • veiller à la cohérence des mesures et des politiques nationales
  • mener des politiques transparentes, ciblées, adéquates, souples, cohérentes et équilibrées, compte tenu du caractère limité des ressources budgétaires
  • miser sur l’innovation pour accroître durablement la productivité.
     

D’après le rapport 2016 de l’OCDE, la Suisse présente avec l’Islande, le Japon, la Corée et la Norvège, l’un des plus hauts niveaux d’aide à l’agriculture, en ESP exprimé en pour cent. Près de 60 % des recettes brutes de l’agriculture suisse proviennent de ressources publiques prélevées soit chez le consommateur, soit chez le contribuable (cette part est de 17 % en moyenne dans les pays de l’OCDE). La structure des aides publiques à l’agriculture diffère beaucoup d’un pays à l’autre. En Suisse, environ 50 % des transferts de fonds publics dont bénéficie l’agriculture sont considérés comme générateurs de fortes distorsions de concurrence.

Cependant, la politique agricole suisse a fait l’objet, au début des années 1990, de réformes qui ont considérablement réduit ces distorsions. Les mesures de soutien des prix ont été transformées en aides directes découplées de la production et toujours plus ciblées. Malgré tout, le niveau des aides à l’agriculture reste, en Suisse, élevé par rapport à d’autres pays.

L’ESP est reconnu et largement utilisé pour comparer les politiques agricoles sur le plan international. Il n’existe pas d’autre indicateur, ni d’autres données sur lesquelles établir cette comparaison. Il convient néanmoins de l’interpréter en tenant compte des éléments suivants.

  • L’ESP permet d’estimer le soutien à l’agriculture en valeur absolue (en francs) et en valeur relative (en pour cent du produit de l’activité), mais il ne donne aucune indication ni sur le coût de la vie, ni sur le pouvoir d’achat dans le pays considéré. Par conséquent, il ne permet pas de tirer des conclusions sur l’impact des aides publiques sur le revenu agricole, ni de déterminer, en termes de pouvoir d’achat, la valeur de chaque dollar ou de chaque franc restant pour l’agriculteur et sa famille.

  • Les variations annuelles des droits protecteurs à la frontière résultent moins des modifications du régime des droits de douane que de facteurs extérieurs tels que l’évolution des prix sur les marchés agricoles internationaux ou les fluctuations des cours et des devises. C’est ainsi que les droits de douane calculés ont augmenté substantiellement depuis 2013, principalement à cause de l’appréciation du franc suisse, consécutive aux décisions de la Banque nationale.

  • La Suisse est un pays où tout est plus cher qu’à l’étranger, non seulement dans l’alimentation, mais aussi dans tous les secteurs, en raison du pouvoir d’achat du consommateur, du fait que celui-ci est prêt à payer plus (en particulier pour les produits suisses) et d’une cherté à caractère structurel (par exemple du fait des salaires). Ces écarts structurels ne proviennent qu’en partie des barrières douanières, mais ils influencent la valeur des taxes douanières qui entrent dans le calcul de l’ESP.
 

Dernière modification 20.03.2017

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de l'agriculture OFAG

Secteur Affaires internationales et sécurité alimentaire

Schwarzenburgstrasse 165

3003 Berne

T
+41 58 468 70 91

Kate Dassesse

Imprimer contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/fr/home/international/institutionen/oecd/monitoring-und-evaluation-agrarpolitik.html