Doha Round of negotiations

Book Fotolia_43976700_Subscription_Monthly_XL

The WTO not only handles the implementation of the current agreements, but also intends to further develop the regulatory framework. This is the reason for the negotiation rounds, from which the WTO as an institution has emerged. The current round on world trade talks, the so-called Doha Round, started in 2001. With the final objectives to reduce trade barriers and increase transparency, different topics are negotiated, including agriculture.

The Doha Round covers a package of trade topics which ministers of economic affairs and trade of the WTO members have been negotiating since their 2001 conference in Doha and were supposed to conclude by 2005.  It has, however, not yet been possible to finalize negotiations due to members' differing views on several topics.

The negotiations mandate for the agriculture sector has five goals: 

  1. Improved market access
  2. Elimination of export subsidies 
  3. Reduction of trade-distorting domestic support
  4. Dealing with specific problems of developing countries
  5. Inclusion of non-trade issues such as food security or rural development (therefore it is also called the "Doha Development Round")

 

The agriculture negotiations take place in special meetings of the Committee on Agriculture, which are scheduled as required. The countries have joined together in negotiating groups, which coordinate mutual interests, positions and proposals. Switzerland is a member of the G10, a group of net-importers of agricultural products, whose members include Iceland, Israel, Japan, Liechtenstein, Mauritius, Norway, South Korea and Taiwan. The G10 members share market access sensitivity and advocate non-trade issues in agriculture.

The agriculture negotiations have progressed significantly with regard to content. The current status is reflected in the modalities text of December 2008 - the last consolidated draft. However, negotiations slowed down considerably after 2008. The Ministers' Conference of December 2011 recognized that there are significant disagreements in the Doha negotiations and that it will not be realistic to conclude the entire negotiation package anytime soon. The work in Geneva is thus
concentrating on partial aspects of the modalities text and is aiming at an early partial completion of the Doha package.

Further Information

Last modification 12.08.2016

Top of page

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/international/institutionen/wto/doha-verhandlungen.html

Négociations du Cycle de Doha

Book Fotolia_43976700_Subscription_Monthly_XL

Le Cycle de Doha est un ensemble de thèmes qui ont été négociés par les ministres de l'économie et du commerce des Etats membres de l'OMC lors de la Conférence de Doha et qui devaient faire l'objet d'un accord au plus tard en 2005. Cependant, les négociations n'ont pas pu aboutir jusqu'à aujourd'hui, en raison des nombreuses divergences d'opinions des membres sur différents sujets. 

L'OMC ne s'occupe pas uniquement de l'application des accords existants, mais également du développement des règles. C'est à cela que servent les cycles de négociations commerciales, dont est issue l'OMC. Le cycle actuel (Cycle de Doha) a été lancé en 2001. Des négociations sont menéessur divers thèmes, en vue de la réduction des entraves au commerce et de l'amélioration de la transparence. L'un de ces thèmes est l'agriculture.

Le mandat de négociations dans le domaine de l'agriculture prévoit cinq objectifs :

  1. Amélioration de l'accès au marché
  2. Suppression des subventions à l'exportation
  3. Réduction du soutien interne ayant des effets de distorsion des échanges
  4. Traitement des problèmes spécifiques des pays en développement
  5. Intégration des problématiques non liées au commerce, comme la sécurité de l'approvisionnement ou le développement rural (c'est pourquoi on appelle parfois ce cycle « Programme de Doha pour le développement »)

 

Les négociations agricoles se déroulent dans le cadre de séances spéciales du Comité de l'agriculture qui sont organisées selon les besoins. Les pays se réunissent au sein de groupes de négociation. Ceux-ci coordonnent des intérêts, positionnements et propositions communs. La Suisse est membre du G10, un groupe d'importateurs agricoles nets, dont font partie également l'Islande, Israël, le Japon, le Liechtenstein, l'Ile Maurice, la Norvège, la Corée du Sud et Taïwan. Les membres du G10 partagent certaines sensibilités concernant l'accès au marché et s'engagent pour des problématiques non liées au commerce dans le domaine agricole.

Du point de vue du contenu, les négociations agricoles ont bien progressé. L'état actuel reflète le projet de modalités de décembre 2008 - le dernier projet consolidé. Depuis 2008, les négociations ont cependant fortement ralenti. Lors de la Conférence ministérielle de décembre 2011, on a finalement reconnu qu'il subsistait des divergences importantes dans le cadre des négociations de Doha et qu'une conclusion rapide de l'ensemble du paquet de négociations n'était pas réaliste. Les travaux à Genève se concentrent donc maintenant sur des aspects partiels du projet de modalités. On vise  désormais à une conclusion anticipée de certains aspects du paquet de Doha.

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 12.08.2016

Début de la page

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/fr/home/international/institutionen/wto/doha-verhandlungen.html