CFS Principles for Responsible Investment in Agriculture and Food Systems (CFS-RAI)

Responsible investment in agriculture and food systems is essential to improve food security and nutrition.

Today almost one in eight people still suffer from hunger or malnutrition. The majority of these 800 million people live in rural areas. In order to make a definitive improvement to food security, there must be much greater investment in agriculture and food systems. However, not all investments contribute equally to improving the living conditions of the poorest populations, strengthening agricultural systems and protecting natural resources. There must be responsible investment in order to meet the challenges posed by population growth, changing consumer behaviour and climate change, and to successfully overcome hunger and malnutrition.

In the Committee on World Food Security (CFS), Switzerland led negotiations to draw up principles for responsible investments in agriculture and food systems (Responsible Agricultural Investments, RAI), which were adopted by the CFS at its 41st session in October 2014.

The Principles grew out of a collaborative process in which all relevant actors (governments, civil society, the private sector, international organisations, private foundations and research institutions) were involved. That is why these Principles have wide support.
Their aim is to promote responsible investments which improve food security and contribute towards wider realization of the right to adequate food in the context of national food security. This voluntary instrument is aimed at all actors involved in investment in agricultural food systems and offers practical direction.

The 10 Principles at a glance

  1. Contribute to food security and nutrition.
  2. Contribute to sustainable and inclusive economic development and the eradication of poverty.
  3. Foster gender equality and women’s empowerment.
  4. Engage and empower youth.
  5. Respect tenure of land, fisheries and forests, and access to water.
  6. Conserve and sustainably manage natural resources, increase resilience and reduce disaster risks.
  7. Respect cultural heritage and traditional knowledge, and support diversity and innovation.
  8. Promote safe and healthy agriculture and food systems.
  9. Incorporate inclusive and transparent governance structures, processes, and grievance mechanisms.
  10. Assess and address impacts and promote accountability.

The CFS adopted the Voluntary Guidelines on Responsible Governance of Tenure of Land, Fisheries and Forests (VGGT) in 2012. These Guidelines supported fair governance of tenure of land, i.e. giving access to and control over land and other natural resources to the poorest rural populations in developing countries. The Principles complement the VGGT Guidelines.

Last modification 15.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG

International Affairs and Food Security

Schwarzenburgstrasse 165

3003 Bern

p
+41 58 48 36613

Madeleine Kaufmann

Print contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/international/nachhaltigkeit/responsible-agricultural-investments/cfs-rai-oecd-fao-guidelines.html

CSA Principes pour un investissement responsable dans l’agriculture et les systèmes alimentaires (CSA-RAI)

Il est essentiel d’investir de façon responsable dans l’agriculture et les systèmes alimentaires en vue d’améliorer la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition.

Aujourd’hui, près d’une personne sur huit souffre de faim ou de malnutrition dans le monde. La majorité de ces 800 millions de personnes vivent dans l’espace rural. Pour améliorer la sécurité alimentaire de façon décisive, il faut augmenter massivement les investissements dans l’agriculture et les systèmes alimentaires. Or, les investissements ne contribuent pas toujours à l’amélioration des conditions de vie des couches de population défavorisées, au renforcement des systèmes agricoles ou à la protection des ressources naturelles. Afin de faire face aux défis découlant de la croissance démographique, de l’évolution des habitudes de consommation et des changements climatiques et afin de lutter efficacement contre la famine et la sous-alimentation, il importe d’investir de façon responsable, notamment en tenant compte des aspects sociaux et environnementaux.

Au sein du Comité de la sécurité alimentaire mondiale (CSA), la Suisse a dirigé les négociations sur l’élaboration des Principes pour un investissement responsable dans l’agriculture et les systèmes alimentaires, qui ont été approuvés par le CSA lors de sa 41e réunion en octobre 2014.

Les Principes ont été élaborés selon une démarche participative, à laquelle ont pris part tous les acteurs concernés (gouvernements, société civile, secteur privé, organisations internationales, fondations privées et recherche). Ces Principes sont donc portés par de nombreux organismes.
Ces Principes doivent encourager les investissementsaméliorant la la sécurité alimentaire et ainsi favoriser la réalisation progressive du droit à une alimentation adéquate dans le contexte de la sécurité alimentaire nationaleIls sont volontaires et s’adressent à tous les acteurs qui opèrent des investissements dans les systèmes alimentaires agricoles.

Les dix Principes en un coup d’oeil

  1. Contribuer à la sécurité alimentaire et à la nutrition.
  2. Contribuer à un développement économique durable et sans exclusion et à l’éradication de la pauvreté.
  3. Favoriser l’égalité entre les sexes et l’autonomisation des femmes.
  4. Faire participer les jeunes et renforcer leur autonomie.
  5. Respecter les régimes fonciers applicables aux terres, aux pêches et aux forêts et l’accès à l’eau.
  6. Conserver et gérer de manière durable les ressources naturelles, renforcer la résilience et réduire les risques de catastrophe.
  7. Respecter le patrimoine culturel et le savoir traditionnel et favoriser la diversité et l’innovation.
  8. Promouvoir une agriculture et des systèmes alimentaires sûrs et sains.
  9. Intégrer des structures de gouvernance, des procédures et des mécanismes de recours qui soient ouverts à tous et transparents.
  10. Évaluer les incidences et y remédier, et favoriser l’obligation de rendre compte. 

En 2012, le CSA a élaboré les Directives volontaires pour une gouvernance responsable des régimes fonciers applicables aux terres, aux pêches et aux forêts dans le contexte de la sécurité alimentaire nationale. Ces Directives visent à apporter une sécurité foncière et un accès équitable à la terre et à d’autres ressources naturelles pour les populations rurales défavorisées dans les pays en développement. Les Directives sont complémentaires aux Principes pour un investissement durable.
 

Dernière modification 15.08.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de l'agriculture OFAG

Secteur Affaires internationales et sécurité alimentaire

Schwarzenburgstrasse 165

3003 Berne

Tél.
+41 58 48 36613

Madeleine Kaufmann

Imprimer contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/fr/home/international/nachhaltigkeit/responsible-agricultural-investments/cfs-rai-oecd-fao-guidelines.html