Pests and diseases

Plants form the basis of our food chain, for without the cultivation of crops there would be neither food for humans nor feed for animals. Plants are also a key element of the environment in which we live and lead our everyday lives. For this reason, outbreaks of plant diseases and pests can have devastating effects on the quality of our lives and on the economy. Particularly dangerous harmful organisms can threaten the livelihoods of agricultural and horticultural producers and adversely affect the quality and prices of our food and the condition and functions of our forests and parks.

Destructive plant pests and diseases can take a wide variety of forms, such as insects or bacteria, fungi or viruses. For example, the bacterial disease fireblight (Erwinia amylovora) has caused severe damage to fruit production in Switzerland over the past 30 years. In recent years, outbreaks of the Asian long-horned beetle (Anoplophora glabripennis), in particular, have posed a major threat to forests. In the coming years, the introduction and spread of new, particularly dangerous harmful organisms – e.g. the bacterium Xylella fastidiosa, the Japanese beetle (Popillia japonica) or the pine wood nematode (Bursaphelenchus xylophilus) – could have serious economic, social and environmental impacts. It is therefore essential to take effective measures as rapidly as possible to prevent harmful organisms from entering Switzerland, or to eradicate them as soon as they are detected in this country.

Certain harmful organisms which are not yet present in Switzerland or only occur locally are subject to a general notification obligation.

Quarantine pests

Quarantine pests are plant diseases or pests of potential economic significance which are not present or only occur locally in Switzerland. They are subject to a general notification and control obligation. Quarantine pests include, for example, the bacterium Xylella fastidiosa and the Asian long-horned beetle (Anoplophora glabripennis).

Protected zone quarantine pests

Protected zone quarantine pests are pathogens or pests which are widely distributed in Switzerland but do not yet occur in certain areas, in which they have a high potential to cause damage. They have quarantine pests status in the areas designated as protected zones for these organisms, but not in the rest of Switzerland. In Switzerland, there is currently only one protected zone for fireblight (Erwinia amylovora).

Regulated non-quarantine pests

Regulated non-quarantine pests (RNQPs) are pathogens or pests which are widely distributed in Switzerland and are transmitted mainly through specific host plants intended for planting. Owing to their distribution, they do not (or no longer) meet the criteria for a quarantine pest. However, as their presence on or in plants would have an unacceptable economic impact, phytosanitary measures must be adopted with regard to the propagating material. RNQPs cause diseases such as fireblight in pomaceous fruit, plum pox (Sharka) in stone fruit, red band needle blight in pine, or apple proliferation.

Last modification 24.02.2020

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG Swiss Federal Plant Protection Service SPPS
Schwarzenburgstrasse 165
3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 462 25 50
Fax
+41 58 462 26 34

phyto@blw.admin.ch

Print contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/nachhaltige-produktion/Pflanzengesundheit/schaedlingeundkrankheiten.html

Ravageurs et maladies

Les végétaux constituent le fondement de notre chaîne alimentaire, car en l’absence de cultures de végétaux, les hommes seraient privés de nourriture et les animaux de fourrage. Les végétaux sont en outre un élément central de l’environnement dans lequel nous vivons. L’apparition de maladies des végétaux et des ravageurs peut pour cette raison avoir des effets catastrophiques sur notre qualité de vie et sur l’économie. Les organismes nuisibles particulièrement dangereux sont en mesure de menacer les moyens de subsistance des exploitations actives dans la production agricole et horticole et ont un impact négatif sur la qualité et sur les prix de nos denrées alimentaires ainsi que sur l’état et les fonctions de nos forêts et parcs.

Les organismes nuisibles destructeurs de végétaux peuvent apparaître sous différentes formes : bactéries, champignons, virus ou encore insectes. Le feu bactérien (Erwinia amylovora), par exemple, a infligé d’importants dégâts à l’arboriculture en Suisse au cours des 30 dernières années. Les apparitions du capricorne asiatique (Anoplophora glabripennis) ont en particulier représenté un grand danger pour les forêts ces dernières années. L’introduction et la dissémination de nouveaux organismes nuisibles particulièrement dangereux – comme la bactérie Xylella fastidiosa, le scarabée japonais (Popillia japonica) ou le nématode des pins (Bursaphelenchus xylophilus) – pourraient avoir de lourdes conséquences économiques, sociales et écologiques au cours des prochaines années. Il importe pour cette raison de prendre sans tarder des mesures efficaces pour empêcher que de tels organismes nuisibles parviennent en Suisse, ou de les détruire dès que leur présence est détectée dans le pays.

Il existe une obligation générale d’annoncer pour certains organismes nuisibles qui ne sont pas encore présents en Suisse ou qui ne le sont que localement.

Organismes de quarantaine

Les organismes de quarantaine sont des maladies des végétaux ou des organismes nuisibles pour les végétaux susceptibles d’avoir un impact économique, qui ne sont pas présents en Suisse ou ne le sont que localement. Ils doivent être impérativement annoncés et combattus. Font par exemple partie des organismes de quarantaine la bactérie Xylella fastidiosa et le capricorne asiatique.

Organismes de quarantaine de zone protégée

Les organismes de quarantaine de zone protégée sont des pathogènes ou des organismes nuisibles qui sont répandus en Suisse, mais dont la présence n’est pas encore relevée dans certaines zones, dans le cas desquelles ils présentent un potentiel de dommages élevé. Ils n’ont le statut d’organisme de quarantaine qu’à l’intérieur des zones protégées délimitées à leur égard, mais pas dans le reste de la Suisse. En Suisse, il n’existe actuellement qu’une seule zone protégée contre le feu bactérien (Erwinia amylovora).

Organismes réglementés non de quarantaine

Les organismes réglementés non de quarantaine (ORNQ) sont des pathogènes ou des organismes nuisibles qui sont largement répandus en Suisse, principalement vis des végétaux spécifiques destinés à la plantation. En raison de leur dissémination, ils ne remplissent pas ou plus les critères définissant un organisme de quarantaine. Comme leur présence sur ou dans les plantes aurait cependant des conséquences économiques inacceptables, des mesures phytosanitaires doivent être prises en ce qui concerne le matériel de multiplication. Font par exemple partie des ORNQ le feu bactérien des fruits à pépins, le virus de la sharka des fruits à noyau, la maladie des bandes rouges du pin ou la prolifération du pommier.

Dernière modification 20.12.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de l'agriculture OFAG Service phytosanitaire fédéral SPF
Schwarzenburgstrasse 165
3003 Berne
Tél.
+41 58 462 25 50
fax
+41 58 462 26 34

phyto@blw.admin.ch

Imprimer contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/fr/home/nachhaltige-produktion/Pflanzengesundheit/schaedlingeundkrankheiten.html