Plant breeding

Pflanzenzuechtung

Will suitable plant varieties still be available for our agriculture in the future? Do the “seed giants” pose a threat to our nutrition? Is there a need for greater involvement of the state in plant breeding? In consultation with representatives of various interest groups, the Federal Office for Agriculture has developed a plant breeding strategy and measures which are to be implemented under the Agricultural Policy after 2022 (AP22+) programme.

Plant breeding is regarded as a key discipline for addressing global challenges such as food security and the development of site-adapted, nutrient- and resource-efficient agricultural production. There have been major changes in the plant breeding environment as a result of the introduction of new technologies that increase the speed or effectiveness of the breeding process, as well as numerous corporate mergers. This raises questions about whether state action is required to ensure the availability of suitable seeds for Swiss agriculture. Accordingly, the federal authorities have developed a plant breeding strategy and defined key measures in an Action Plan.

The Plant Breeding Strategy 2050 recognises the importance of plant breeding for Switzerland in the coming decades and establishes foundations for the expenditure and allocation of public funds. Oriented towards sustainable multifunctional agriculture, it is designed to provide guidance for Switzerland’s plant breeding actors in defining their own strategies.

To support implementation of the Strategy in key action areas, an Action Plan has been prepared by various expert groups led by the FOAG. This includes, for example, a business plan for the development of a competence and innovation network, as well as a report on the further development of the portfolio of federally funded breeding programmes.

Further information

Last modification 30.08.2021

Top of page

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/nachhaltige-produktion/pflanzliche-produktion/pflanzenzuechtung.html

Pflanzenzüchtung

Pflanzenzuechtung

Stehen unserer Landwirtschaft zukünftig noch geeignete Pflanzensorten zur Verfügung? Ist unsere Ernährung durch die "Saatgutmultis" gefährdet? Muss sich der Staat stärker in der Pflanzenzüchtung engagieren? Das Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft hat mit Vertretern verschiedener Interessensgruppen eine Strategie und Massnahmen erarbeit, die mit der Agrarpolitik 2022 (AP 22+) umgesetzt werden sollen.

Die Pflanzenzüchtung gilt als Schlüsseldisziplin zur Bewältigung globaler Herausforderungen wie der Sicherung der Nahrungsmittelversorgung und der Entwicklung einer standortangepassten, nährstoff- und ressourceneffizenten landwirtschaftlichen Produktion. Durch die Einführung neuer Technologien, die den Züchtungsprozess beschleunigen oder effektiver machen und zahlreiche Unternehmenszusammenschlüsse hat sich das züchterische Umfeld stark verändert. Dies wirft Fragen nach staatlichem Handeln zur Sicherstellung der Verfügbarkeit von geeignetem Saatgut für die Schweizer Landwirtschaft auf. Der Bund hat dazu eine Strategie erarbeitet und in einem Massnahmenplan die Handlungsschwerpunkte festgelegt.

Die «Strategie Pflanzenzüchtung 2050» erkennt die Bedeutung der Pflanzenzüchtung für die Schweiz in den kommenden Jahrzehnten an und legt Grundlagen für die Aufwendung und Zuteilung öffentlicher Mittel fest. Sie richtet sich an einer nachhaltigen multifunktionalen Landwirtschaft aus und soll den Akteuren im züchterischen Umfeld der Schweiz als Orientierungshilfe für die Festlegung eigener Strategien dienen.

Zur Umsetzung der Strategie wurde für die zentralen Handlungsfelder ein Massnahmenplan von verschiedenen Expertengruppen unter der Leitung des BLW erarbeitet. Er enthält unter anderem einen Businessplan für den Aufbau eines Kompetenz- und Innovationsnetzwerkes und einen Bericht zur Weiterentwicklung des Portfolios öffentlicher Züchtungsprogramme.

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 03.06.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/de/home/nachhaltige-produktion/pflanzliche-produktion/pflanzenzuechtung.html