The Swiss National FAO Committee (CNS-FAO)

The Swiss National FAO Committee (CNS-FAO) is an advisory body to the Federal Council. It was founded in 1947 following Switzerland's accession to the FAO.

Titelbild für Positionspapier Agroecology

The Committee usually meets four times a year. It is currently chaired by Martijn Sonnevelt, Executive Director of the World Food System Center at ETH Zurich. It is made up of 15 members from various sectors (civil society, private sector, research institutes, agricultural organisations, etc.), who are elected for a term of four years. The maximum period a member can serve on the committee is 12 years.

The CNS-FAO advises on ways and means to combat world hunger and its causes, on improving global food security, and on promoting the sustainable development of agriculture and food systems.

Further information

Last modification 31.05.2024

Top of page


Federal Office for Agriculture (FOAG)
International Affairs and Food Systems

Schwarzenburgstrasse 165
3003 Bern
+41 58 4836613

Madeleine Kaufmann

Print contact