Protected zones

For particularly dangerous harmful organisms not already regulated as quarantine pests, areas free of infestation/infection may, under certain conditions, be designated as protected zones.


Only one protected zone currently exists in Switzerland: the entire canton of Valais is a protected zone for fireblight (Erwinia amylovora).

Plants, parts of plants intended for planting (other than seeds and fruit) and live pollen for pollination of host plants of fireblight may only be moved into or supplied within Valais with a protected zone plant passport. This also applies to private persons who wish to introduce such plants into a protected area for their own use.Plant material of following genera requires a protected zone plant passport for its transfer and delivery in the Canton of Valais:

  • Amelanchier (juneberry)
  • Chaenomeles (flowering quince)
  • Crataegus (hawthorn)
  • Cydonia (quince)
  • Eriobotrya (loquat)
  • Malus (apple)
  • Mespilus (medlar)
  • Pyracantha (firethorn)
  • Pyrus (pear)
  • Sorbus (whitebeam) 


Protected zones exist for various harmful organisms in the EU. Anyone wishing to export plant material to these protected zones must note that, for certain products, more stringent requirements have to be met and a protected zone plant passport is required (this also applies for private individuals).

Last modification 06.05.2020

Top of page


Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG Swiss Federal Plant Protection Service SPPS
Schwarzenburgstrasse 165
3003 Bern
+41 58 462 25 50
+41 58 462 26 34

Print contact