Non-EU countries

Plant diseases and pests can be introduced into new areas via certain goods – in particular, fresh plant material. To eliminate this risk, the import and export of such goods is prohibited or subject to certain conditions.

The term "non-EU countries" refers to all countries other than Switzerland, Liechtenstein and EU member states. From a plant health perspective, the Canary Islands, Ceuta, Melilla and French overseas territories are also considered to be non-EU countries.

Import

The import of fresh plant material (i.e. non-prohibited material, see below) from non-EU countries is possible only with a phytosanitary certificate. This applies, for example, to plants, fruits, vegetables, cut flowers, seeds and other fresh parts of plants. The phytosanitary certificate must be obtained from the plant protection organisation of the country of origin. The only fruits which can still be brought into Switzerland or the EU from any other country without a phytosanitary certificate are pineapples, coconuts, durians, bananas and dates.

As well as being accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate, certain goods must meet specific requirements for import (see Fact Sheet no. 1) and are checked on arrival by the competent phytosanitary service.

Companies wishing to import goods requiring a phytosanitary certificate from non-EU countries must register with the SPPS (mandatory registration of operators). The SPPS must generally be notified of import consignments containing goods requiring a certificate at the latest one day prior to their arrival. For this purpose, the online import notification system TRACES (Trade Control and Expert System) must be used. More detailed information on import notification can be found under “Import procedure from third countries (TRACES)” below. The SPPS customs offices where phytosanitary import controls are carried out are located at Zurich and Geneva airports. For non-notified consignments, delays in phytosanitary clearance are to be expected. Information on the import procedure can be found under “Import procedure from third countries (TRACES)” below.
Trade in protected plant species is subject to the provisions of the Washington Convention (CITES). Information on this topic can be obtained from the Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office (FSVO).

Export

Exports to non-EU countries are subject to the regulations of the country of destination. In most cases, a phytosanitary certificate is required. This can be applied for online. The Agroscope Phytosanitary Service (APS) is responsible for issuing certificates for agricultural goods. Certificates for forest plants and wood are issued by the relevant section of the Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN).

Information on the import regulations of the country of destination for the goods in question should be obtained as early as possible. Certain countries issue import licences and require additional field inspections or laboratory analyses. Import licences and other documents are to be submitted with the online application for a phytosanitary certificate.

It is always advisable for the consignee to obtain information on the relevant phytosanitary requirements from the competent authority in the country of destination and to pass this information to the exporter applying for the phytosanitary certificate.

Special regulations are applicable for wood packaging material (ISPM15).

Details of national plant protection organisations:

Last modification 21.02.2020

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG Swiss Federal Plant Protection Service SPPS
Schwarzenburgstrasse 165
3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 462 25 50
Fax
+41 58 462 26 34

phyto@blw.admin.ch

www.plant-health.ch

Print contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/nachhaltige-produktion/Pflanzengesundheit/handelmitpflanzenmaterial/nicht-eu-laender.html

Pays non membres de l’UE

Certaines marchandises, en particulier le matériel végétal vivant, sont susceptibles d’introduire des organismes nuisibles pour les végétaux et des maladies des végétaux dans de nouvelles régions. Pour écarter ce risque, l’introduction et l’importation de telles marchandises sont interdites ou liées à certaines conditions.

Par « pays non membres de l’UE », on entend tous les pays sauf la Suisse, la Principauté de Liechtenstein et les pays membres de l’UE. Les Îles Canaries, Ceuta, Melilla et les départements et territoires français d’Outre-Mer sont également comptés parmi les « pays non membres de l’UE » du point de vue phytosanitaire.

Importation

L’importation de matériel végétal vivant (qui n’est pas interdit, cf. infra) provenant de pays non membres de l’UE n’est possible qu’avec un certificat phytosanitaire. Cela concerne par exemple des plantes, des fruits, des légumes, des fleurs coupées, des semences et d’autres parties de végétaux vivants. Le certificat phytosanitaire doit être demandé auprès du service phytosanitaire du pays d’exportation. Les ananas, les noix de coco, les durians, les bananes et les dattes sont les seuls fruits qui peuvent encore être introduits sans contrôles en Suisse et dans l’UE depuis tous les pays du monde.

Certaines marchandises doivent remplir des conditions spécifiques en plus du certificat phytosanitaire (cf. notice no 1) et sont contrôlées par le service phytosanitaire compétent lors de l’importation.

Les entreprises qui souhaitent importer des marchandises soumises au régime du certificat phytosanitaire en provenance de pays non membres de l’UE sont tenues de s’annoncer auprès du SPF (régime de l’autorisation). Les importations qui contiennent de telles marchandises doivent être annoncées au Service phytosanitaire fédéral (SPF) au plus tard un jour avant l’importation. La déclaration d’importation doit se faire au moyen de l’application en ligne « Trade Control and Expert System » (TRACES). Des informations détaillées sur la déclaration d’importation figurent dans la rubrique « Procédure d’importation des pays tiers » (voir infra). Les bureaux du SPF, où les contrôles d’importation phytosanitaires sont exécutés, se trouvent dans les aéroports de Zurich et de Genève. Il faut s’attendre à un retard dans l’exécution des formalités phytosanitaires lors du dédouanement d’envois n’ayant pas fait l’objet d’un préavis. Des informations sur le déroulement de l’importation figurent à la rubrique « Procédure d’importation des pays tiers » (voir infra). Les dispositions qui s’appliquent aux plantes soumises à la convention sur la conservation des espèces (CITES) sont réservées.
L’Office fédéral de la sécurité alimentaire et des affaires vétérinaires (OSAV) fournit des renseignements concernant la conservation des espèces.

Exportation

Pour l’exportation vers des pays non membres de l’UE, la législation du pays importateur est applicable. Dans la plupart des cas, un certificat phytosanitaire (Phytosanitary Certificate) est nécessaire. Vous pouvez saisir le certificat phytosanitaire en ligne. Le Service phytosanitaire d’Agroscope (ASP) est compétent pour la délivrance des certificats concernant des marchandises agricoles. Pour les végétaux forestiers et le bois, les certificats sont délivrés par le service compétent de l’Office fédéral de l’environnement (OFEV).

Les clarifications concernant les dispositions d’importation en vigueur dans le pays destinataire doivent être effectuées le plus tôt possible. Certains pays délivrent des autorisations d’importer et exigent, en plus, des contrôles sur le terrain ou des analyses de laboratoire. Les autorisations d’importation et, le cas échéant, d’autres documents doivent être joints à la demande d’établissement d’un certificat phytosanitaire déposée en ligne.

Dans tous les cas, le destinataire de la marchandise a intérêt à se renseigner sur les dispositions phytosanitaires en vigueur auprès du service compétent du pays destinataire et à les communiquer à l’exportateur en vue de la demande du certificat phytosanitaire.

Des réglementations spéciales s’appliquent au bois d’emballage (NIMP 15).

 

Adresses des services phytosanitaires nationaux des pays destinataires :

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 22.09.2020

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de l'agriculture OFAG Service phytosanitaire fédéral SPF
Schwarzenburgstrasse 165
3003 Berne
Tél.
+41 58 462 25 50
fax
+41 58 462 26 34

phyto@blw.admin.ch

www.sante-des-vegetaux.ch

Imprimer contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/fr/home/nachhaltige-produktion/Pflanzengesundheit/handelmitpflanzenmaterial/nicht-eu-laender.html