Free Trade Agreements

Aside from the EFTA Convention and the Free Trade Agreement with the EU, Switzerland currently has a network of 28 free trade agreements with 38 partners worldwide. The agreements are normally concluded within the framework of EFTA. Free trade agreements with Japan, China and the Faroe Islands however remain strictly bilateral.

The older EFTA free trade agreements with partners in Europe/the Mediterranean as well as the agreements with Canada and the South African Customs Union (SACU) mainly contain regulations on trade in goods (particularly the elimination of tariffs and other trade restrictions) as well as the protection of intellectual property. As EFTA countries have no joint agricultural policy, mutual concessions for (basic) agricultural products are regulated in separate bilateral agreements between each EFTA country and the respective partner. The newer agreements are more comprehensive and, as a rule, contain regulations regarding trade in services, investments, public procurement, and - recently - also environment and labour standard issues.

Swiss concessions granted to free trade partners are always compatible with Swiss agricultural policy. Regarding unprocessed agricultural products, concessions are primarily made in the form of tariff reduction or elimination for non-sensitive products (e.g. tropical fruit) and preferential imports within existing WTO tariff quotas (e.g. meat or fruit/vegetables). These concessions within WTO quotas provide the trading partner with a relative advantage vis-a-vis other exporters for products that are sensitive from a Swiss point of view, without increasing the total amount imported into Switzerland.

For processed agricultural products, Switzerland generally charges an import tariff, consisting of a flexible partial amount (equivalent to the compensation of the Swiss raw material price handicaps) and an industry protection element. The industry protection element is generally revoked for free trade partners.

In negotiations on free trade agreements, Switzerland aims to obtain the best possible concessions from its partners to improve market access for Swiss agricultural products with high export potential.. Examples include basic agricultural products such as dairy products (including cheese), dried meat and wine as well as processed agricultural products such as beverages (including coffee), chocolate, biscuits and sugar confections.

The following table of free trade agreements lists important agricultural concessions granted to the specific partners. It also contains weblinks to the texts of the agreements as well as further information.

Links

Last modification 02.09.2016

Top of page

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/international/agrarmaerkte-und-agrarhandel/freihandelsabkommen.html

Freihandelsabkommen

Die Schweiz verfügt - neben der EFTA-Konvention und dem Freihandelsabkommen mit der EU - gegenwärtig über ein Netz von 28 Freihandelsabkommen mit 38 Partnern. Die Abkommen werden normalerweise im Rahmen der EFTA abgeschlossen, mit Japan, China und den Färöer-Inseln bestehen jedoch rein bilaterale Abkommen.

Die älteren EFTA-Freihandelsabkommen mit Partnern im Raum Europa-Mittelmeer sowie die Abkommen mit Kanada und der Südafrikanischen Zollunion (SACU) beinhalten in erster Linie Bestimmungen über den Warenverkehr (insbesondere Abbau der Zölle und anderer Handelsbeschränkungen) sowie in der Regel über den Schutz der Rechte an Geistigem Eigentum. Da die EFTA-Staaten keine gemeinsame Agrarpolitik haben, sind gegenseitige Konzessionen in separaten bilateralen Abkommen zwischen den EFTA-Ländern einerseits und dem jeweiligen Partner andererseits geregelt. Die neueren Abkommen sind umfassender und beinhalten neben dem Warenverkehr und dem geistigen Eigentum in der Regel auch Verpflichtungen zum Handel mit Dienstleistungen, für Investitionen, für das Öffentliche Beschaffungswesen und neuerdings auch zur Umwelt und zu Arbeitsstandards.

Alle Schweizer Konzessionen, die den Freihandelspartnern gewährt werden, sind mit der Schweizer Agrarpolitik vereinbar. Es handelt sich in Bezug auf unverarbeitete Agrarprodukte insbesondere um Zollreduktionen für nicht sensible Produkte (z.B. tropische Früchte) und für Importe innerhalb bestehender WTO-Zollkontingente (z.B. Fleisch oder Früchte/Gemüse). Mit den Konzessionen innerhalb der WTO-Kontingente erhält der Handelspartner einen relativen Vorteil gegenüber anderen Exporteuren für aus Schweizer Sicht sensible Produkte -ohne dass aber die totale Importmenge zunimmt.

Bei verarbeiteten Agrarprodukten erhebt die Schweiz einen Importzoll, der sich aus einem sogenannten beweglichen Teilbetrag (entspricht der Kompensation des Schweizer Rohstoffpreishandicaps) und einem Industrieschutzelement zusammensetzt. Für Freihandelspartner wird üblicherweise das Industrieschutzelement aufgehoben.

Die Schweiz ihrerseits versucht in den Verhandlungen zu diesen Abkommen möglichst weitgehende Konzessionen für Agrarprodukte mit hohem Exportpotential zu erhalten. Bei den Basisagrarprodukten handelt es sich dabei beispielsweise um Milchprodukte inklusive Käse, Trockenfleisch und Wein, bei den verarbeiteten Agrarprodukten beispielsweise um Getränke inklusive Kaffee, Schokolade, Biskuits und Zuckerwaren.

Die nachfolgende Tabelle mit den Freihandelsabkommen listet abgesehen von den oben erwähnten generellen Konzessionen die spezifischen Konzessionen auf und enthält Weblinks zu den relevanten Abkommenstexten und weiteren Informationen.

Weiterführende Informationen

Links

Letzte Änderung 10.08.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/de/home/international/agrarmaerkte-und-agrarhandel/freihandelsabkommen.html