Simulation Models

International Trade Policy Analysis at the Trade Relations Unit

What is the impact of free trade agreements on Swiss agriculture? How can Switzerland define at best its negotiating position? The FOAG, in collaboration with the Agroscope Socioeconomics Research group of the Institute for Sustainability Sciences (ISS), utilizes economic simulation models that allow analyzing a wide range of scenarios.

The International Trade Policy Unit (ITPU) of the Federal Office for Agriculture (FOAG) uses quantitative tools assessing multi- and regional trade agreements in order to support international trade negotiations. Currently two models are installed and regularly used: the Tariff Reduction Impact Model for Agriculture (TRIMAG) and the market module of the Common Agricultural Policy Regionalized Impact (CAPRI) model.

The TRIMAG model has been developed by the ITPU. Its database includes domestic and international prices, tariffs and trade flows at the highest possible level of disaggregation (the tariff line, i.e. “8 digits” in the Harmonized System).

TRIMAG can be used:

  • as a support for the selection of sensitive tariff lines in the WTO negotiations. Following the application of tariff reduction formulas, and by taking into account all possible combinations of standard and sensitive tariff cuts, TRIMAG optimizes the domestic agricultural value added of production subject to a maximum number of sensitive tariff lines;
  • as a tariff aggregation tool from the 8 digits level to the one required by computable equilibrium models (notably, CAPRI). Aggregated tariffs are computed by considering the substitutability effects in consumption between the tariff lines corresponding to the same aggregate product;
  • as a support for the detailed analysis of negotiating positions in international trade negotiations.

CAPRI is a partial equilibrium model developed through a number of research projects coordinated by the University of Bonn:

  • The market module is constituted by a spatial, global multi-commodity comparative static model for the agricultural sector. It covers about 50 primary and secondary agricultural products for 77 countries depicting trade between 40 trade blocks. Switzerland is included as a separate trade block in the CAPRI market module since 2011. International trade policies are represented for all the trade regional blocks; for Switzerland, aggregated tariffs are provided by the TRIMAG model. The CAPRI market module is able to provide for Switzerland results on imports, exports, production, producer and consumer prices as well as on welfare.

The joint use of TRIMAG and CAPRI allows combining a high level of precision in applying tariff reduction formulas (as needed by policy makers in trade negotiations) with the opportunity of assessing the impact of trade liberalization on aggregated agricultural markets.

Further Information

Publications

  • Analyse de l’impact sur le marché laitier du supplément pour le lait transformé en fromage. Recherche Agronomique Suisse 5 (5): 212–215. Giulia Listorti, Axel Tonini, 2014.
  •  How to Implement WTO Scenarios in Simulation Models: Linking the TRIMAG Tariff Aggregation Tool to Capri. 135th EAAE Seminar, Belgrade, Serbia, 28-30 August. Giulia Listorti, Axel Tonini, Markus Kempen, Marcel Adenäuer (2013).
  • Evaluating existing policy flexibilities in WTO agricultural negotiations: different criteria for the selection of sensitive products. 122nd EAAE Seminar, Ancona, Italy, 17-18 February. Giulia Listorti, Markus Kempen, Jean Girardin, Tim Kränzlein (2011).
  • Do price uncertainties affect the use of policy flexibilities? The selection of sensitive products in WTO agricultural negotiations. EAAE 2011 Congress, Zurich, Switzerland. August 30 to September 2. Giulia Listorti, Markus Kempen, Jean Girardin, Tim Kränzlein (2011)
  • The Swiss payment for milk processed into cheese : ex post and ex ante analysis. Agricultural Economics, Volume 48, Issue 4, pages 437-448. Robert Finger, Giulia Listorti, Axel Tonini (2017)

Last modification 06.06.2018

Top of page

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/international/statistiken-und-modellierung/modellierung.html

Modellierung

Analysen der internationalen Handelspolitiken im Fachbereich Handelsbeziehungen

Welche Auswirkungen haben die Freihandelsabkommen auf die Schweizer Landwirtschaft? Wie soll die Schweiz ihre Verhandlungsposition optimal ausrichten? In Zusammenarbeit mit der Gruppe Sozioökonomie des Instituts für Nachhaltigkeitswissenschaften (INH) von Agroscope verwendet das BLW wirtschaftliche Simulationsmodelle, um eine breite Palette an Szenarien zu analysieren.


Der Fachbereich Internationale Handelspolitik (FBIH) des Bundesamtes für Landwirtschaft (BLW) stützt sich auf quantitative Instrumente, um die Auswirkungen von multilateralen und regionalen Handelsabkommen zu beurteilen und den Standpunkt für internationale Handelsverhandlungen zu definieren. Derzeit werden zwei Modelle eingesetzt: das Tariff Reduction Impact Model for Agriculture (TRIMAG) und das Marktmodul des Common Agricultural Policy Regionalized Impact Model (CAPRI).

Das TRIMAG-Modell wurde vom FBIH entwickelt. Seine Datenbank umfasst Inland- und Weltmarktpreise, Zölle und Handelsströme auf möglichst hoher Desaggregationsstufe (Zolltariflinie oder «8 digits» im so genannten Harmonisierten System).

Einsatzgebiete von TRIMAG:

  • Als Unterstützung bei der Auswahl sensibler Zolltariflinien in WTO-Verhandlungen. Nach Anwendung der Zollsenkungsformeln und unter Berücksichtigung aller möglichen Kombinationen von Standard- und sensiblen Tariflinien optimiert TRIMAG den Mehrwert der Inlandproduktion im Hinblick auf eine maximale Anzahl sensibler Tariflinien.
  •  Als Instrument zur Aggregation von Tariflinien von der Stufe «8 digits» bis zu jener Stufe, die in den Simulationsmodellen (z. B. CAPRI-Modell) erforderlich sind. Die aggregierten Tariflinien werden unter Berücksichtigung der Substitutionseffekte beim Konsum über Tariflinien, die dem gleichen aggregierten Produkt entsprechen, berechnet.
  • Als Unterstützung bei der Detailanalyse der Verhandlungspositionen in internationalen Handelsverhandlungen.
    CAPRI ist ein partielles Gleichgewichtsmodell, das im Rahmen von verschiedenen Forschungsprojekten, die von der Universität Bonn koordiniert wurden, entwickelt wurde.
  • Das Marktmodul besteht aus einem komparativ-statischen Multi-Commodity-Raummodell des Agrarsektors. Das Modell umfasst rund 50 primäre und sekundäre Agrarprodukte für 77 Länder, die den Handel für 40 Handelsblöcke darstellen. Seit 2011 wird die Schweiz als eigener Handelsblock aufgeführt. Die internationalen Handelspolitiken werden für alle regionalen Handelsblöcke dargestellt; für die Schweiz werden die aggregierten Zölle aus dem TRIMAG-Modell geliefert. Das Marktmodul von CAPRI kann für die Schweiz Auskunft geben über Ein- und Ausfuhren, Produktion, Produzenten- und Konsumentenpreise sowie die wirtschaftliche Wohlfahrt.

Die Kombination von TRIMAG und CAPRI ergibt eine hohe Präzision bei der Anwendung von Zollsenkungsformeln (wie sie von den politischen Entscheidungsträgern in internationalen Verhandlungen gefordert werden) mit der Möglichkeit, die Auswirkungen einer Liberalisierung des Handels auf den Agrarmärkten auf aggregierter Ebene zu beurteilen.

Weiterführende Informationen

Publikationen

  • Analyse de l’impact sur le marché laitier du supplément pour le lait transformé en fromage. Recherche Agronomique Suisse 5 (5): 212–215. Giulia Listorti, Axel Tonini, 2014.
  • How to Implement WTO Scenarios in Simulation Models: Linking the TRIMAG Tariff Aggregation Tool to Capri. 135th EAAE Seminar, Belgrade, Serbia, 28-30 August. Giulia Listorti, Axel Tonini, Markus Kempen, Marcel Adenäuer (2013).
  • Evaluating existing policy flexibilities in WTO agricultural negotiations: different criteria for the selection of sensitive products. 122nd EAAE Seminar, Ancona, Italy, 17-18 February. Giulia Listorti, Markus Kempen, Jean Girardin, Tim Kränzlein (2011).
  • Do price uncertainties affect the use of policy flexibilities? The selection of sensitive products in WTO agricultural negotiations. EAAE 2011 Congress, Zurich, Switzerland. August 30 to September 2. Giulia Listorti, Markus Kempen, Jean Girardin, Tim Kränzlein (2011)
  • The Swiss payment for milk processed into cheese : ex post and ex ante analysis. Agricultural Economics, Volume 48, Issue 4, pages 437-448. Robert Finger, Giulia Listorti, Axel Tonini (2017)

Letzte Änderung 06.06.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/de/home/international/statistiken-und-modellierung/modellierung.html