Free Trade Agreements

Aside from the EFTA Convention and the Free Trade Agreement with the EU, Switzerland currently has a network of 28 free trade agreements with 38 partners worldwide. The agreements are normally concluded within the framework of EFTA. Free trade agreements with Japan, China and the Faroe Islands however remain strictly bilateral.

The older EFTA free trade agreements with partners in Europe/the Mediterranean as well as the agreements with Canada and the South African Customs Union (SACU) mainly contain regulations on trade in goods (particularly the elimination of tariffs and other trade restrictions) as well as the protection of intellectual property. As EFTA countries have no joint agricultural policy, mutual concessions for (basic) agricultural products are regulated in separate bilateral agreements between each EFTA country and the respective partner. The newer agreements are more comprehensive and, as a rule, contain regulations regarding trade in services, investments, public procurement, and - recently - also environment and labour standard issues.

Swiss concessions granted to free trade partners are always compatible with Swiss agricultural policy. Regarding unprocessed agricultural products, concessions are primarily made in the form of tariff reduction or elimination for non-sensitive products (e.g. tropical fruit) and preferential imports within existing WTO tariff quotas (e.g. meat or fruit/vegetables). These concessions within WTO quotas provide the trading partner with a relative advantage vis-a-vis other exporters for products that are sensitive from a Swiss point of view, without increasing the total amount imported into Switzerland.

For processed agricultural products, Switzerland generally charges an import tariff, consisting of a flexible partial amount (equivalent to the compensation of the Swiss raw material price handicaps) and an industry protection element. The industry protection element is generally revoked for free trade partners.

In negotiations on free trade agreements, Switzerland aims to obtain the best possible concessions from its partners to improve market access for Swiss agricultural products with high export potential.. Examples include basic agricultural products such as dairy products (including cheese), dried meat and wine as well as processed agricultural products such as beverages (including coffee), chocolate, biscuits and sugar confections.

The following table of free trade agreements lists important agricultural concessions granted to the specific partners. It also contains weblinks to the texts of the agreements as well as further information.

Links

Last modification 02.09.2016

Top of page

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/international/agrarmaerkte-und-agrarhandel/freihandelsabkommen.html

Accords de libre-échange

Outre la Convention AELE et l'accord de libre-échange avec l'UE, la Suisse dispose actuellement d'un réseau de 28 accords avec 38 partenaires. Ces accords sont généralement conclus dans le cadre de l'AELE, à l'exception toutefois de ceux passés avec le Japon, la Chine et les Iles Féroé, qui sont strictement bilatéraux.

Les anciens accords de libre-échange AELE avec des partenaires de la zone euro-méditerranéenne ainsi que ceux conclus avec le Canada et l'Union douanière de l'Afrique australe (SACU) contiennent surtout des dispositions qui portent sur le trafic des marchandises (en particulier la réduction des droits de douane et d'autres restrictions au commerce) et, en règle générale, sur la protection des droits de propriété intellectuelle. Comme les pays membres de l'AELE n'ont pas de politique agricole commune, ils conviennent entre eux, d'une part, et avec chaque partenaire, d'autre part, de concessions réciproques dans des accords bilatéraux séparés. Les accords plus récents ont été élargis et comportent en règle générale des engagements concernant, outre le trafic des marchandises et la propriété intellectuelle, le commerce des services, les investissements, les marchés publics et aussi depuis peu l'environnement et les normes de travail.

Toutes les concessions accordées par la Suisse aux partenaires de libre-échange sont compatibles avec la politique agricole suisse. En ce qui concerne les produits agricoles non transformés, il s'agit en particulier de réductions des droits de douane sur les produits non sensibles (fruits tropicaux, etc.) et sur les importations dans les limites des contingents tarifaires OMC (viande ou fruits/légumes, etc.). Les concessions octroyées dans le cadre des contingents OMC offrent aux partenaires commerciaux un avantage relatif par rapport à d'autres exportateurs pour des produits jugés sensibles par la Suisse, sans que le volume total des importations n'augmente pour autant.

La Suisse prélève sur les produits agricoles transformés un droit de douane composé d'un élément dit «mobile» (compensation du handicap du prix des matières premières pour la Suisse) et d'un élément de protection industrielle, qui est généralement supprimé pour les partenaires de libre-échange.

La Suisse s'efforce pendant les négociations de conserver des concessions aussi étendues que possible pour les produits agricoles présentant un fort potentiel d'exportation. Les produits agricoles de base comprennent en particulier des produits laitiers ainsi que le fromage, la viande séchée et le vin, et les produits agricoles transformés les boissons ainsi que le café, le chocolat, les biscuits et les confiseries.

Le tableau ci-après sur les accords de libre-échange répertorie les concessions spécifiques, à l'exception des concessions générales précitées, ainsi que les liens Internet qui renvoient aux passages pertinents de ces accords et à des informations complémentaires.

Informations complémentaires

Liens

Dernière modification 22.09.2016

Début de la page

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/fr/home/international/agrarmaerkte-und-agrarhandel/freihandelsabkommen.html