Free Trade Agreement between Switzerland and Indonesia

Reisfelder Indonesien

On 16 December 2018, Switzerland signed a Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement (CEPA) with Indonesia along with the other EFTA states Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. For the first time in history, a referendum was called against a free trade agreement; in the vote held on 7 March 2021, the agreement with Indonesia was approved by 51.7% of the voters.

Switzerland thus succeeded in concluding a free trade agreement with Indonesia before its main competitor, the EU. The agreement with Indonesia has a wide scope of application. Above all, it improves market access and legal certainty for trade in goods (industrial and agricultural products) and services. It also contains provisions on investment, the protection of intellectual property, the reduction of non-tariff barriers to trade, including sanitary and phytosanitary measures; on competition, trade, trade facilitation and public procurement; and on sustainable development and economic cooperation. 

The agreement also improves mutual market access for agricultural products. Switzerland receives considerable concessions from Indonesia for its agricultural export interests: for cheese and dairy products, baby food, energy drinks, coffee, chocolate and biscuits, tariffs will be completely dismantled over a period of twelve years.

The concessions made by Switzerland in agriculture are similar to those granted in other free trade agreements. They are compatible with Switzerland’s agricultural policy and do not pose a risk to any sensitive sectors. In particular, Indonesia receives preferential treatment for various types of beans, dried vegetable mixtures and bananas; for various frozen fruits, dried fruits, fruit mixtures and spices; and for rice flour and certain fruit and vegetable preparations.

At the centre of the negotiations with Indonesia was the country's main export product, palm oil, and this was the issue that sparked the referendum. Opponents to the free trade agreement expressed fears that additionally imported palm oil would displace domestic vegetable oils and criticised the environmentally damaging cultivation methods for the extraction of palm oil.

 Switzerland grants Indonesia only moderate palm oil tariff rebates of 20 to 40 per cent on five quotas totalling 10,000 tonnes, rising to 12,500 tonnes over five years. The tariff concessions for crude palm oil, which because of its properties could replace domestic oils such as rapeseed or sunflower oil, are designed to take account of Swiss oilseed production and so amount to just 1,250 tonnes. The quota for palm kernel oil is 3,750 tonnes, while stearin, which presents less of a threat for Swiss agriculture, has the largest quota at 7,500 tonnes.

The CEPA is the first free trade agreement in which Switzerland has managed to link the granting of concessions to issues of sustainability. Four sustainability standards have been defined, which are seen as sufficient evidence of CEPA's compliance with sustainability goals:

  • Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil (RSPO) Identity Preserved (IP)
  • RSPO Segregated (SG)
  • International Sustainability and Carbon Certification (ISCC) PLUS Segregated
  • Palm Oil Innovation Group (POIG) based on RSPO IP/SG

In order to ensure the traceability of Indonesian palm oil entering the country, in its concession list Switzerland has included the condition that palm oil may only be imported preferentially under CEPA in tanks of no more than 22 tonnes capacity.

Last modification 30.03.2022

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG
Trade Relations Unit


Schwarzenburgstrasse 165

3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 467 68 50

Kilian Widmer

Print contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/international/agrarmaerkte-und-agrarhandel/freihandelsabkommen/freihandelsabkommen_schweizindonesien.html

Accord de libre-échange entre la Suisse et l'Indonesie

Reisfelder Indonesien

La Suisse a signé le 16 décembre 2018 un accord de libre-échange groupant l’Indonésie et notre pays ainsi que d’autres pays de l’AELE, à savoir l’Islande, le Liechtenstein et la Norvège. Les citoyens suisses, dont l’avis a été demandé par referendum d’une façon inédite sur un traité de libre-échange, a accepté l’accord par 51,7 % des voix lors d’une votation populaire qui a eu lieu le 7 mars 2021.

La Suisse est parvenue à conclure un accord de libre-échange avec l’Indonésie avant l’Union européenne, son principal concurrent. L’accord couvre une grande variété de dispositions, assurant aux parties un accès mutuel à leurs marchés, améliorant la sécurité juridique des échanges de biens (produits manufacturés et produits agricoles) et de services. Il comprend aussi des dispositions concernant les investissements, la garantie de la propriété intellectuelle, l’élimination des obstacles non tarifaires au commerce, y compris dans les domaines de la santé et de la santé des plantes, la concurrence, une facilitation des échanges en ce qui concerne les marchés publics, le commerce et le développement durable ainsi que la coopération économique.

Le traité améliore aussi, pour les parties, l’ouverture mutuelle de leurs marchés respectifs aux produits agricoles. Les exportateurs suisses de produits agricoles ont obtenu des concessions substantielles de la part de l’Indonésie. Celles-ci concernent le fromage, les produits laitiers, les aliments pour nourrissons, les boissons énergisantes, le café, le chocolat ainsi que les biscuits, autant de denrées sur lesquelles les droits de douane ont été supprimés pour des périodes pouvant atteindre douze ans.

Les concessions accordées par la Suisse dans le domaine agricole sont comparables à celles qui ont été faites dans d’autres accords de libre-échange. Elles sont compatibles avec la politique agricole etne mettent en péril aucun secteur sensible pour la Suisse. L’Indonésie reçoit un traitement préférentiel notamment en ce qui concerne l’importation des denrées suivantes : diverses variétés de haricots, les mélanges de légumes secs, les bananes, plusieurs fruits surgelés, différents fruits secs et les mélanges de fruits secs, diverses épices, la farine de riz et certaines préparations de fruits et de légumes.

Premier produit d’exportation de l’Indonésie,l’huile de palme se trouvait au cœur des négociations ; c’est aussi cette denrée qui a déclenché le lancement du référendum en Suisse. Des voix s’étaient élevées, d’une part, pour exprimer la crainte de voir l’huile de palme supplanter les huiles de production suisse sur le marché et, d’autre part, pour critiquer durement les méthodes peu écologiques de production de l’huile de palme.

La Suisse accorde à l’Indonésie une réduction modeste (de 20 à 40 %) des droits de douane sur cinq contingents d’huile de palme d’un volume total de 10 000 tonnes et pouvant atteindre 12 500 tonnes sur cinq ans. Les concessions douanières sur l’huile de palme brute, dont les propriétés la rendent substituable aux huiles de production suisse comme l’huile de colza ou l’huile de tournesol, ont été fixées compte tenu des conditions de production des oléagineux en Suisse et ne concernent que 1 250 tonnes d’huile de palme. Le contingent d’huile de palmiste, c’est-à-dire l’huile extraite du noyau des fruits, se monte à 3 750 tonnes, tandis que le contingent de stéarine, moins problématique pour l’agriculture suisse, atteint 7 500 tonnes.

Pour la première fois, la Suisse a pu obtenir dans un accord de libre-échange que des principes de développement durable soient respectés en contrepartie de concessions douanières. Quatre standards de production durable ont été définis dans ce contexte ; ils sont considérés comme une preuve suffisante que les règles de développement durable fixées dans l’accord sont suivies. Ces standards sont les suivants :

  • Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil (RSPO) Identity Preserved (IP)
  • RSPO Segregated (SG)
  • International Sustainability and Carbon Certification (ISCC) PLUS Segregated
  • Palm Oil Innovation Group (POIG) dont l’action repose sur celle du RSPO IP/SG

Soucieuse de garantir la traçabilité de l’huile de palme, la Suisse a précisé, dans sa liste de conditions, que l’huile de palme ne pourrait être importée au taux préférentiel, dans le cadre de l’accord de libre- change, que dans des citernes dont le volume n’excède pas 22 tonnes.

Dernière modification 10.06.2021

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de l'agriculture OFAG Secteur Relations commerciales
Schwarzenburgstrasse 165
3003 Berne
Tel.
058 467 68 50

Kilian Widmer

Imprimer contact

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/fr/home/international/agrarmaerkte-und-agrarhandel/freihandelsabkommen/freihandelsabkommen_schweizindonesien.html