Plant breeding

Pflanzenzuechtung

Will suitable plant varieties still be available for our agriculture in the future? Do the “seed giants” pose a threat to our nutrition? Is there a need for greater involvement of the state in plant breeding? In consultation with representatives of various interest groups, the Federal Office for Agriculture has developed a plant breeding strategy and measures which are to be implemented under the Agricultural Policy after 2022 (AP22+) programme.

Plant breeding is regarded as a key discipline for addressing global challenges such as food security and the development of site-adapted, nutrient- and resource-efficient agricultural production. There have been major changes in the plant breeding environment as a result of the introduction of new technologies that increase the speed or effectiveness of the breeding process, as well as numerous corporate mergers. This raises questions about whether state action is required to ensure the availability of suitable seeds for Swiss agriculture. Accordingly, the federal authorities have developed a plant breeding strategy and defined key measures in an Action Plan.

The Plant Breeding Strategy 2050 recognises the importance of plant breeding for Switzerland in the coming decades and establishes foundations for the expenditure and allocation of public funds. Oriented towards sustainable multifunctional agriculture, it is designed to provide guidance for Switzerland’s plant breeding actors in defining their own strategies.

To support implementation of the Strategy in key action areas, an Action Plan has been prepared by various expert groups led by the FOAG. This includes, for example, a business plan for the development of a competence and innovation network, as well as a report on the further development of the portfolio of federally funded breeding programmes.

Further information

Last modification 30.08.2021

Top of page

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/en/home/nachhaltige-produktion/pflanzliche-produktion/pflanzenzuechtung.html

Sélection végétale

Pflanzenzuechtung

Notre agriculture disposera-t-elle encore demain de variétés végétales appropriées ? Les multinationales des semances représent-elles une menace pour notre alimentation ? L’État doit-il s’engager davantage en faveur de la sélection végétale ? L’Office fédéral de l’agriculture a élaboré, en collaboration avec des représentants de divers groupes d’intérêts, une stratégie et des mesures qui seront mises en œuvre dans le cadre de la Politique agricole 2022 (PA 22+).

La sélection végétale est considérée comme une discipline clé pour relever des défis mondiaux tels que la sécurité alimentaire et le développement d’une production agricole adaptée aux conditions locales, qui utilise les nutriments et les ressources de manière efficiente. L’introduction de nouvelles technologies qui accélèrent ou rendent le processus de sélection plus efficace ainsi que les nombreuses fusions d’entreprises ont modifié radicalement le domaine de la sélection. Cette évolution soulève des questions quant à l’action publique visant à garantir la disponibilité de semences adaptées à l’agriculture suisse. La Confédération a élaboré une stratégie à cet effet et défini les principaux domaines d’action dans un plan de mesures.

La stratégie « Sélection végétale 2050 » reconnaît l’importance de la sélection végétale pour la Suisse dans les décennies à venir et jette les bases de l’utilisation et de l’affectation des fonds publics. Elle se fonde sur une agriculture multifonctionnelle durable et doit servir de guide aux acteurs du domaine de la sélection en Suisse pour définir leurs propres stratégies.

Un plan de mesures portant sur les principaux domaines d’action a été élaboré par différents groupes d’experts sous la conduite de l’OFAG pour mettre en œuvre la stratégie. Il comprend notamment un plan d’affaires pour la constitution d’un réseau de compétences et d’innovation ainsi qu’un rapport sur l’évolution du portefeuille de programmes publics de sélection.

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 03.06.2019

Début de la page

https://www.blw.admin.ch/content/blw/fr/home/nachhaltige-produktion/pflanzliche-produktion/pflanzenzuechtung.html